Skin By Adrienne Maria Vrettos


3.6/5-The beginning of this book really drew me in with the intense feeling of something bad yet exciting about to happen.

(Summary From Goodreads)

I’M TELLING YOU THIS BECAUSE YOU DIDN’T ASK. I’VE GOT IT ALL HERE, GROWING LIKE A TUMOR IN MY THROAT. I’m telling you because if I don’t, I will choke on it. Everybody knows what happened, but nobody asks. And Elvis the EMT doesn’t count because when he asked, he didn’t even listen to me answer because he was listening to my sister’s heart not beat with his stethoscope. I want to tell. It’s mine to tell. Even if you didn’t ask, you have to hear it. 

Fourteen-year-old Donnie’s older sister, Karen, has always been the one person in his life on whom he could totally depend. But as Karen slowly slips away in the grip of an eating disorder, Donnie finds himself alone in facing the trauma of his parents’ faltering marriage and his new life as an outcast at school.

Donnie makes it his responsibility to cure his sister’s illness and fix his parents’ issues, letting every part of himself disappear in the process. It is more important — and somehow easier — to figure out if today is a day when Karen is eating, or to know if Dad and Mom are sleeping in the same bedroom, than to deal with his own problems. In the end, though, Donnie must decide whether to float through life unnoticed, or to claim his rightful place as a member of his family and of the world. This powerful story from a brilliant new talent introduces a memorable boy in Donnie, who, from his funny and painfully honest point of view, describes a harrowing year that leaves both him and his family forever changed.

(My Opinion)

Told from the perspective of Donnie, this story was interesting. The idea was pretty interesting because it wasn’t told from Karen’s perspective, but from Donnie’s and how it effected him. Some of the characters were funny and easy to read about while others were boring. It felt like a toss-up between them and which one I would be reading and liking. The ending didn’t seem good to me since it was so typical and bland I didn’t care for it. I wished Adrienne Vrettos could have done something unexpected for the ending.

Skin was a disappointment because some of the funny parts weren’t that funny and the sad scenes weren’t sad at all.Everytime there was a flashback,I was waiting for information about the first chapter. I wish that Donnie stood out more because it didn’t seem like there was anything special about him or what he was doing for his family. I didn’t like that half of the characters didn’t have that much background and weren’t well-organized.

The writing style didn’t bother me which was a good thing. I liked how she described the beginning with Karen and Donnie and the ambulance all huddled around Karen’s body. It was so intense, I loved it. Skin is a book that started in the middle of the story then goes back to the beginning and then back to the middle and then the end. I loved that it started in the middle since not very many books start there. The relationship between Karen and Donnie is like most relationships between siblings with the constant fighting and unpredictable moves. I would recommend this book to anyone who knows someone with an eating disorder. Also for people who feel like they disappear silently into the background, lost forever.

Leave a Reply

