This Lullaby By Sarah Dessen


5/5 This book really did it for me. The first Sarah Dessen book I ever read and it practically knocked the breath right out of me. First of all, let me tell you what gets a 5/5 in my book. The book has to make me burst out laughing, call the main character a complete dumbass, start flipping out, and most importantly, make me cry my eyes out.

Remy is about to go off to college and helping her mother out with one more thing. One more wedding which will take place during the summer, handle her job, hang out with friends, and still help her older brother. Remy has a lot on her plate before she can go to Stanford. The last thing she needed was for Dexter, the too tall, to lanky guy to fall on her lap. Literally. Dexter is everything Remy cannot stand-he’s in a band, he’s too lanky, he’s too confident. And oh yeah, he’s in a BAND. So why can’t he just leave her alone?

I wish Sarah Dessen would write a series so badly that it hurts. But something I really didn’t like was just the very last page. It seemed so ordinary compared to a very extravagant summer.

What I love most about this book is the mother-daughter that happens and Remy’s mom really doesn’t want Remy to give up on something that might be her chance. And that love isn’t perfect and that’s okay too. I love how much of a bitch Remy is because if she wasn’t, I don’t think Dexter would have tried so hard, and that the point wouldn’t have gotten a crossed as hard as it did for me. I have read all of Sarah Dessen’s book and they are all amazing and deserve a read from everyone.

Leave a Reply

