Boot Camp By Todd Strasser


4.3/5 This book made me realize just how willing parents are to get the child they want.

In the middle of the night Garrett is taken from his home to Harmony Lake, a boot camp for troubled teens. Maybe some kids deserve to be sent there, but Garrett knows he doesn’t. Subjected to brutal physical and psychological abuse, he tries to fight back, but the battle is futile. He won’t be allowed to leave until he’s admitted his “mistakes” and conformed to Harmony Lake’s standards of behavior. And there’s no way to fake it. Beaten, humiliated, and stripped of his pride, Garrett’s spirit is slowly ebbing away. But when he hears about a plan to escape the camp, is he willing to try to escape? and if he is, is he ready for what he’ll get if it doesn’t work?

What I don’t like about this book is that Garrett was still kind to the people who kidnapped him. It didn’t surprise me, and yes, it was the right thing to do, but I would have liked it more if he didn’t care about what happened to them. I also didn’t like the reason behind him being sent off to the camp. It was done before by MANY authors and I am sick of it coming up in every book.

What I like about this book is how raw and mean, and realistic the camp is. I love everything about the camp, the chaperones, the staff, the kids, and the harsh rules the kids have to follow before they can go back into the world. I feel like this book is a real insight to what real boot camps for out of control kids are like. Thank god I’ve never been to one, but that’s how I feel. You can really tell in this story that Todd Strasser really did his homework before he wrote anything about the camp. If he comes out with another book like this, I will be sure to read it.

Leave a Reply

