Rumble Fish By S.E. Hinton


4.5/5 This story truly gave me an insight look into the lives of teens just like me, but who have been left off worse than I am.

14 year-old Rusty James wants to grow to be just like his older brother, the motorcycle Boy. With them looking a lot alike (even though nobody else thinks that) Rusty James has already started smoking, drinking, gang fighting, and playing pool for money just like his older brother. He wishes he could tune out of the world like how the Motorcycle Boy can. 5 or 6 years after leaving his old life behind, he runs into Steve, his old best friend at the beach. When he gets invited to dinner, Rusty James has to really ask himself if he’s finally ready for the bad memories to resurface again.
What I don’t like about this book, even though I understand why S. E. Hinton did it, is the grammar. The grammar pissed me off for most of the beginning and some of the middle until I finally just let it go. It was then that I started loving the book a lot. I also didn’t like how the most important thing in the book went down. I was confused while I read that part and I didn’t know who was who. I wish S.E Hinton wrote that part more clearly for me.
What I love about this book is how much description she put into the book about the characters, the life, and Rusty James feelings. The characters were so easy for me to love and relate to with them learning about themselves and figuring out what they really want in life. Amazing book and I recommend it to everyone who is willing to read a great book with bad grammar/spelling.
Leave a Reply

