Flip By Martyn Bedford


3.5/5 I hate to say it, but if it wasn’t for the cover I wouldn’t have given this book a second glance.

One December night, 14-year-old Alex goes to  bed. He wakes up to  find himself in the wrong bedroom, in an unfamiliar house, in a different part of the country, and it’s the middle of June. Six months have disappeared overnight. The family at the breakfast table are total strangers. And when he looks in the mirror, another boy’s face stares back at him.  A boy named Flip. Unless Alex finds out what’s happened and how to get back to his own life,  he may be trapped forever inside a body that belongs to someone else.

What I don’t like about this book is that it reminded me too much of ”freaky friday’ with Lindsay Lohan. Only it was with boys and they never met each other. I wish Martyn Bedford did something different with the boys’ personalities instead of making them complete opposites. Also, for me, the beginning was a bit bland, like there was a bit of something good but not enough for me to actually sit down and read through it. The characters were somewhat original but not as much as I would have liked them to be and I felt like, since it is in third person, that there should have been another point of view and not just Alex’s.

What I like about this book is the cover. Am I the only one who thinks the guy on the cover is really cute? I hope not. But on the actual book, I like the ending because it wasn’t what I expected would happen. It was different and I got clammy fingers from freaking out. I also like that while Alex is in Flip’s body, he had a friend who he could always count on to help him figure out what to do in Flip’s body. It made it seem like Alex wasn’t as alone as he thought he was which is a good thing. Even though I found this book a bit bland for most of it, I would recommend it to someone who is maybe looking for their guardian angel/older sibling in someone. 
Leave a Reply

