Title: Divergent (Divergent #1)

Author: Veronica Roth

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Dystopian

Age Range: 14+

Release Date: May 03, 2011

Pages: 487 (hardcover)

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent).

On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself. 

She renames herself Tris during the initiation while struggling with love, trust, and friendship. She tries her best to keep to herself about a secret and threats that could ruin the perfect society that she lives in. When Tris is put to the test to save the ones she loves, will she pull through and save them or fail and lose them?

 

4.7/5 I’m still shocked that I actually really enjoyed this book. This book is one of those book that makes me never want to underestimate a book again.

At the beginning of the story, it was so boring that I had to stop a few times because I couldn’t take just how slow-paced it was. It wasn’t until somewhere in the middle when it finally picked up (only a bit) and I started enjoying the book. What I didn’t like about this book is that it reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games because even though this book is in a different place, I felt like the idea was very similar. I also didn’t like how emotional Tris got throughout the better half of the book. Veronica Roth wanted to make it clear that Tris was a very strong girl. And, yes, even though Tris does face very hard, very unbearable things throughout it, I still felt that she also cried when it was over something small and I would roll my eyes at her. A lot.

The ending of Divergent really surprised me because I actually wasn’t expecting it ( I had a hunch but that was it). What I liked about this book is that Tris got to experience new things while still learning old things as well. The different names and traits of each faction was a bit hard for me to remember, but once they stuck, I realized just how much I loved them.The names are so very clever. I loved how they had to follow a certain dress code and a certain way of life that was different for each faction. So much happened in the ending that it made me pay more attention because I knew that something big was going to happen. The ending to this book is amazing and I laughed a lot in the middle and near the end.

Even though I found Veronica Roth’s book to be slow, she made up for it with a smashing ending that not only put Tris’ strengths to the test but also the strengths’ of the people she loved and cared about too. I recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t mind slow books with great endings with characters that are easy to get attached to.           

Leave a Reply

