The Forsaken By Lisa M. Stasse

Simon & Schuster Publishing For Young Adults

 Publication Date: July 10, 2012

Pages: 375 (hard cover)

Genre: Young Adult

 2.5/5-This book was such a let down. Alenna is too annoying for me to put up with.

(Summary from Goodreads)

As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high-capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.

The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

(My Opinion)

The Forsaken is told from the perspective of Alenna Shawcross. The idea for this story isn’t original, it has been done multiple times before by other books/movies. Almost all of the characters were boring and I didn’t feel sorry for them when I should have. Lisa M. Stasse’s writing was very odd. To me, it felt like she wanted this story to be in third person but instead wrote it in first which made it choppy and annoying.Alenna Shawcross is a very typical character. Nothing about her stood out to me which didn’t help the book.

Alenna plays the guitar, she doesn’t fit in anywhere, nobody noticed her before she was on the wheel. I didn’t feel connected to her at all. It wasn’t until things started to speed up and romance started to blossom that I started to dislike Alenna a lot. She had never kissed a boy before the wheel or had a boyfriend, so, how does she know she’s in love after only a month of being on the wheel? That really agitated me. It agitated me because the relationship is very new yet she’s sure of her feelings after a month. Not realistic at all.

The Forsaken reminds me of so many other medias that I enjoyed a lot more than this like: The lord of the flies, V for Vendetta, Divergent, and Blade just to name a few. There was barely anything original about it. In the first chapter we learn a lot about Alenna and her life as well as other things. There was too much explanation in the first chapter which made me lose interest a bit. I didn’t know what exactly was going to happen in the end, but it was easy to predict a very typical ending that did not leave very much interest for me to want to read the next book in this series.

There was very little that I actually enjoyed about this book and one of the things I liked were the drones. I liked the drones because they were reckless, fearless, and very stupid. They destroyed everything they touched yet didn’t care in the slightest. The cover art is beautifully done as well and that really drew me in. I love how it goes well with the idea of the government controlling everyone and everything.There are a lot of dystopian books out there but this one would not be anywhere near the top of my list. Fans of The Hunger Games may like this but may also dislike this book like I did. I wouldn’t recommend this unless you want to read a remake of The Hunger Games and Lord Of The Flies.

Leave a Reply

