I Opened My Heart To Caustic Things By Maycomb


4025029922-1I Opened My Heart To Caustic Things By Maycomb

Record Label: I Am Mighty Records

Genre: Pop Punk

Release Date: November 29, 2012

Songs: 11 I Opened My Heart to Caustic Things - Maycomb

Maycomb is a melody driven pop-punk band, hailing from the West Midlands. Armed with a diverse, intricate, harmony focused sound, they’ve spent the past few years touring the UK, building a widespread and loyal fan base. After sharing stages with the likes of Saves The Day, The Wonder Years, and The Starting Line, the band are gearing up to release their long-awaited debut album,

“I Opened My Heart To Caustic Things”, on I Am Mighty Records at the tail end of 2012.

Album Sampler

(My Opinion)

First of all, I would like to thank the record label, I Am Mighty Records for giving me a copy of this album to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciated! All right, now for my review.

Maycomb is one of those bands that are up against the fence for me. I don’t dislike them. Yet, I don’t exactly like them either. I do like some of the songs and the Drummer does a good job keeping the songs interesting but I’m not a fan of the singing. It could have been done better and clearer. These guys obviously have a long way to go, but they have the potential to go far.

The singing doesn’t sound as good as it could, I think it can be brought out some more to sound clearer. Another thing I don’t like about this album is that even though I like the guitar and drum parts for the songs, they sound, for the most, part the same. Most of the songs have the same song structure and are hard to tell apart. I understand that love and relationships are very common topics for songs but I was expecting more meaning and different things to listen about.

One of the things I really like on albums are the solos. I Opened My Heart To Caustic Things has maybe a semi duet/solo thing going on in, Also Ran which I really enjoyed. I like that this album appeals to more than just the pop/punk group. Indie lovers will definitely like a few songs on here like, I Am A Constant Variable and Out Of Darkness Cometh Light. Maycomb really know how to choose their song titles! I love it! Start Missing Everybody is the sing that really caught my eye immediately because it sounds the most interesting. I Am Constantly A Variable, Sinking Song, Whatever Happens, Happens, and Out Of The Darkness Cometh Light are all titles that also caught my attention. Instead of going with simple titles, they went with titles that I guess have a secret meaning behind them that also lets the listeners use their imagination about what the song is about before listening to it. The lyrics for Old Gold and I am Constantly A Variable are some pretty awesome lyrics that I think a lot of people can relate to and that I feel the most attached to.

Overall, Maycomb’s first album is something that I would recommend for people looking for a new band that are a fan of The Wonder Years.There are flaws with this album but they have potential to become big. Currently, my favourite songs on this album are, Old Gold, I Am Constantly A Variable, Also Ran, and Start Missing Everybody. 

four

 

 

3 awesome treble clefs

Leave a Reply

