Black Heart (Curse Workers#3) By Holly Black


8884616Black Cat By Holly Black

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction and Young Adult

Release Date: April 3, 2012

Pages: 296 (hard cover)

Black Heart (Curse Workers #3)

Cassel Sharpe has the most deadly ability of all. With one touch, he can transform any object – including a person – into something else entirely. And that makes him a wanted man. The Feds are willing to forgive all his past crimes if he’ll only leave his con artist family behind and go straight. But why does going straight feel so crooked?

For one thing, it means being on the opposite side of the law from Lila, the girl he loves. She’s the daughter of a mob boss and getting ready to join the family business herself. Though Cassel is pretty sure she can never love him back, he can’t stop obsessing over her. Which would be bad enough, even if her father wasn’t keeping Cassel’s mother prisoner in a posh apartment and threatening not to let her leave until she returns the priceless diamond she scammed off him years ago. Too bad she can’t remember where she put it.

The Feds say they need Cassel to get rid of a powerful man who is spinning dangerously out of control. But if they want Cassel to use his unique talent to hurt people, what separates the good guys from the bad ones? Or is everyone just out to con him?

(My Opinion)

Black heart is the last book in the curse workers trilogy (sadly. I want more books in this series so good!) The series is told from the perspective of Cassel Sharpe. The idea for this book is kind of expected but there are quite a few surprises that keep it interesting. Most of the characters are great, I think that Cassel and his brother, Barron step out of their comfort zones and do things out of the rightness of their hearts. But, there are a few characters that I think are stiff, choppy, and just boring. I was expecting to be overwhelmed with excellence but all I got was mediocre.

Believe it or not, this book is my least favourite in the series. I’m not sure if it’s because I had really high hopes for it or if I knew a lot about Cassel’s world that small shockers didn’t shock me and threats didn’t make me squeal with joy and excitement. A few of the tricks in the book are pretty predictable and boring, nothing interesting to think about which kind of sucks because I was expecting to be constantly surprised and squealing with excitement.

IT IS VERY HARD TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. I couldn’t let it out of my grasp for more than twenty minutes before I started to get antsy about all the fun that awaited me in the book. The relationship between Cassel and Lila is pretty intense. Holly Black does a great job keeping it interesting between the characters. It could go either way for them which I like since it kept me guessing. I love the writing style for this series. Just reading Black Heart makes me feel like I actually am Cassel Sharp which is something I think every writer wants to achieve with their readers. Not all of the twists and cons that Cassel and his friends pull off are predictable which kept me interested.

Overall, Black Heart is a good read. The characters (for the most part) are fun to read about and really jump off the pages. The writing style is smooth and easy to read. I would recommend this series to EVERYONE. It is amazing and everyone will have a good time reading and laughing at the things and events that happen in this series.

fourstars 4 Dreamy Clouds

Leave a Reply

