Break By Hannah Moskowitz


5579776

Break By Hannah Moskowitz

Publisher: Simon&Schuster

Genre: Contemporary and young adult

Release Date: August 25 2009

Pages: 262 (Paperback)

Break
Jonah is on a mission to break every bone in his body. Everyone knows that broken bones grow back stronger than they were before. And Jonah wants to be stronger—needs to be stronger—because everything around him is falling apart. Breaking, and then healing, is Jonah’s only way to cope with the stresses of home, girls, and the world on his shoulders.
When Jonah’s self-destructive spiral accelerates and he hits rock bottom, will he find true strength or surrender to his breaking point?

(My Opinion)

Told from the perspective of Jonah McNab, a story about caring for others while trying to find your purpose in life. There are a few parts in the book that are written too quick that could have a lot more explanation. Overall, I love the writing style, it’s smooth and all of Jonah’s thoughts, I could really picture him saying them out loud. I really love this book.

The secondary characters could have been more thought out. Especially the ones in the ward, they’re supposed to be really important, but they’re stiff and choppy. I really don’t like the relationship between Charlotte and Jonah, it’s really messy, confusing, and way too fast. I wish Hannah Moskowitz slowed every scene of the their relationship down a bit. Also, the ending really disappointed me because it’s left are unanswered and it’s disorganized. I would have given it a higher rating if the ending was better.

Every relationship has its problems and I like that the relationship between Jesse and Jonah is perfect. I think so because it’s raw and to me, it’s a realistic relationship that I can easily relate to. Jonah McNab as a character has to be one of my favourite characters ever just because he’s just so awesome. I love his humour even when it’s inappropriate and how his brain seems to work differently than everyone else’s and his love for his family. One of my favourite things that I absolutely love about Hannah Moskowitz and her books is that they all have some kind of twist to them. And that I learn new words like, Confucianism  and anaphylaxis. I learn new things with every book I read by her, I love it!

Overall, an amazing read that I recommend for everyone. Especially if you’re looking for a story that is different from the rest of the books you’ve read. The characters are very likeable and this is about a serious topic that will make you think. Hannah Moskowitz recently released another young adult book called, Teeth. Which I cannot wait to read because I know it will be great.

fourstars 4 Dreamy Clouds

Recommendations

1. Bait by Alex Sanchez  from Second Childhood Reviews 

2. Ballads Of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert from YA Reads

3. Scars by Cheryl Rainfield from Good Choice Reading

4. Harmonic Feedback by  Tara Kelly from The Book Muncher

Leave a Reply

