Book Review: Chasing The Skip By Janci Patterson


13513650Chasing The Skip By Janci Patterson

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Genre: Contemporary, Adventure and young adult

Release Date: October 2, 2012

Pages: 240 (Hard Cover)

Chasing The Skip

 

Ricki’s dad has never been there for her. He’s a bounty hunter who spends his time chasing parole evaders—also known as “skips”—all over the country. But now since Ricki’s mom ran off, Ricki finds herself an unwilling passenger in a front-row seat to her father’s dangerous lifestyle.

Ricki’s feelings get even more confused when her dad starts chasing seventeen-year-old Ian Burnham. She finds herself unavoidably attracted to the dark-eyed felon who seems eager to get acquainted. But Ricki thinks she’s ever in control—the perfect manipulator. Little does she know that Ian isn’t playing their game by her rules.

(My Opinion)

After reading 200 pages of this novel, I gave up and skimmed the rest. I’m glad I did because from the reviews I’ve read about this, I didn’t miss much. Chasing The Skip had an interesting story line and okay idea, I was hoping to like it. But instead I was left with very stiff, annoying characters and a very disorganized story. There isn’t anything that stood out to me in a good way because I couldn’t get over the way Ricki acts throughout the whole story.

Ricki, throughout the books constantly changes her age from acting like a fifteen year-old to acting like a three year-old, to a ten-year old who has a crush on an older boy. At first, I thought this part was kind of cute, the relationship between Ian and Ricki is blooming and it’s cute until it started to get annoying and stupid.  What I really dislike about this book is that Ricki feels the need to impress Ian and change herself just so that he’ll like her. I find that very stupid and not a very good message to send out to readers who might think that this is the case. The way she is around isn’t the most annoying part of the book or even the character.

The most annoying part has to be how easily the author skips over the serious things that has happened to the father. I think that if Janci Patterson had explored the father and his situation that is his past a lot more, I could have enjoyed the relationship between him and Ricki. I was left feeling frustrated that I didn’t know very much about the dad and his past life, or any of the characters for that matter. Ricki’s best friend and boyfriend seem like ink on paper and nothing more.

With all of that been said, that wasn’t anything that I liked about this book. I wouldn’t recommend this book for anyone just because after reading this book, I felt cheated and left very disappointed.

Two Clouds

Two Clouds

Leave a Reply

