Album Review: Carousel By Her And Gold


a0b4cce9ecf9c7019ba1386fca4b605e49dc98dcCarousel By Her And Gold

Record Label: independent

Release Date: December 4, 2012

Genre: Indie and Pop

Songs: 11

Carousel - Her & Gold

Maria Sais de Sicilia was previously in Lydia and currently in Bears of Manitou. Her And Gold is her solo project getting help from Blake Kimball(Lead guitar)Tony Robles(Drums). Carousel is her debut album.

(My Opinion)

To be honest, I haven’t heard much about Maria Sais de Sicilia or of Bears of Manitou and I want to say that I’m a fan of her but I’m not sure if I am. Carousel isn’t a bad start for a solo career but is a bit odd. Every so often while listening to one of the songs on this album, something changes that also bothers me and I switch  songs.

For songs like St. Teresa and wildfire, there is a lot of repetition and gets annoying very easily. I find that for all of the songs, the instruments drown out her voice and makes it hard to understand the lyrics she’s singing without feeling the need to look them up. I will admit that Maria has a very beautiful voice and she uses it to her advantage, but for songs like, Magnolia, Someday, and St. Teresa I feel like they are a bit too slow for her voice. If the tempo was a bit quicker I think that it would have made these songs much better. Another thing that makes it very difficult for me to understand the words or even enjoy the songs is that there is an echo of sorts of her voice on every song. Even though I do like songs that have this awesome effect because sometimes it does make the song better but in this case, it just takes away from it. A few songs sound good with the echo like, Happy, while others sounds odd and hard to pay attention to.

Like I said before, Maria has a beautiful voice, I love the different notes and pitches used to show how soft and delicate her voice is, yet how sure and strong it can be too. Take The Lead has a very smooth transitioning between the verses and the chorus which I really enjoy. There’s a really good use of techno displayed throughout the album and in most of the songs. I like that different types of techno is used to help make all of the songs sound different. What I really like about this album are the songs, Start Again, Take The Lead, Carousel, and Happy because of their lyrics. The Lyrics are vague enough to be able to relate to the listeners yet still have meaning for the band.

Overall, I will listen to Her And Golds next album since this one didn’t disappoint but showed that there is a bit more to be learned. From this album my favourite songs are, Start Again, Take The Lead, Happy, and Carousel. I would recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of States, Lydia, and BOY. If you enjoy Her And Gold then you should certainly check out Bears Of Manitou.

Three Sexy Treble Clefs

Three Sexy Treble Clefs

 

Songs On The Album

  1. Happy -3:41
  2. Magnolia-3:52
  3. St. Teresa-3:12
  4. Someday-3:08
  5. Start Again-3:48
  6. Wildfire-3:48
  7. Take The Lead-3:40
  8. Carousel-5:01
One thought on “Album Review: Carousel By Her And Gold

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update#1 « A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

