Shadow And Bone (The Grisha#1) By Leigh Bardugo


10194157Shadow And Bone (The Grisha#1) By Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Genre: Adventure, Dystopian and young adult

Release Date: June 5, 2012

Pages: 358 (Hard Cover)
Shadow And Bone (The Grisha#1)

 

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha…and the secrets of her heart.

(My Opinion)

How on earth did I allow this amazing book to sit on my bookshelf for months without reading it? How? The second I picked this book, it was near impossible to put down. Told from the perspective of Alina Starkov. A story about Standing out when all you want is to fit in. I love this book a lot. My new favourite!

There isn’t anything that I dislike about this book.

I loooovveeeee the writing style! It’s so very smooth. The characters jump right off the pages with the right amount of information that they aren’t choppy or stiff. There is so much action and adventure that goes on in the book that I never felt bored or barely put it down. With many twists and surprises, I was left in the dark about what would happen next. I loved it! Usually, certain romances annoy me and are very shallow. The romance in Shadow And Bone isn’t like that. I can easily make sense of Alina’s choice and her need for affection because she was so neglected as a child.

Shadow and Bone has brought out a shit load of emotions from me. Not only did I cry but I laughed and then squealed and then almost threw the book out the window because I got really upset with Mal and Alina. Overall, an amazing read that I would recommend to everyone. Especially if you’re a fan of The Hunger Games and badass girls kicking some serious ass.

Five Insanely Dreamy Clouds

Five Insanely Dreamy Clouds

2 thoughts on “Shadow And Bone (The Grisha#1) By Leigh Bardugo

  1. For the longest time I’ve been getting this book confused without another one (and that’s why I’ve completely ignored it). But now that I know they’re different books – I am eager to read this one. It looks amazing. I love the list of emotions you went though! Great review.

  2. Pingback: 2013 Book Challenges: February Edition | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

