Album Review: Devil by Lydia


Lydia-Devil-200x200Devil by Lydia

Record Label: Independent

Genre: Indie/Pop/rock

Release Date: March 19, 2013

Songs: 10
Devil - Lydia

Lydia is an indie rock pop band from Gilbert, Arizona that was formed in 2003. In 2010, the band took a year-long hiatus. Lydia has released five albums-This December, it’s one more and I’m free, Illuminate, Assailants, Paint it golden, and Devil.  Current band members are-Leighton Antelman (Vocals),  Justin Camacho (Guitar) Matt Keller (Keyboard), and Craig Taylor (drums, percussions). They are also, currently ON TOUR SO GO BUY TICKETS.

(My Opinion)

Lydia’s approach to music this time around leans more towards new territory. Comparing this album to their others, it’s evident that they are  branching out towards lighter, more playful music. Although it’s still clear that Hailey is still (and might always be) the inspiration for some of these songs, there seems to be a more vague sense of romance. Nonetheless, I love this album and I cannot wait for them to come to Toronto. And believe me when I say that you need this album on ‘favourites’ list.

Almost every song is amazing, blown-away worthy songs. And although I love their music and most likely always will, Lydia has added a few irritating things to their sound. One of these things is the whole, “oh woah woah oh oh’ bit. I’ll admit, for some songs, like, Knee Deep and The Exit  it helps and adds to it but for most songs it seems too over-used and forced and leaves me feeling annoyed. This is the case with, Runaway and Hurry Back Tonight. At first, I didn’t mind it but after two minutes of the very repetitive, “oh woah woah”  and, “come on, come on” I had to change it before my head exploded.

Now, onto the Happier parts of the album! Lydia is known for their exquisite talents of painting lovely, delicate, (yet somewhat a little dark) pictures with lyrics about romance, in songs From A Tire Swing, and Hurry Back Tonight,  battling your inner demons in Devil and Knee Deep as well as, of course, learning your shit like in Holidays. An example of the lovely pictures they can pain is with Back To Bed and how I literally feel like getting back to bed with my girlfriend and sleeping for days at a time. It’s a song that is full of playfulness and love with a hint of adventure.  The Exit, Devil, Take Your Time, Holidays, and From A Tire Swing start off with soft, mellowed out intros that work their way into a fast pace and into their listener’s soul.

Everything blends into each other, the guitars and bass compliment the vocals and the drums don’t over power the sound. At some point in Take Your Time  I fall in love with the guitarist and the unique sounds that Justin Camacho plays. I adore Lydia which is why I buy their music without having to listen to it first.

As always, a beautiful album made by a talented band. You don’t need to listen to their old stuff to truly appreciate their music and unique sound. I love all these songs but I keep getting Devil, Back To Bed, Holidays, and From A Tire Swing stuck in my head (which is fine by me). I would definitely say that these are my favourite songs and I recommend this album to everyone. Whether you mostly just listen to rap, pop, indie, punk, etc. Lydia will somehow touch your heart.

4.5 Beautiful Treble Clefs

4.5 Beautiful Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album

1. The Exit-3:37

2. Runaway-3:10

3. Knee Deep-2:55

4. Devil-3:58

5. Back To Bed-3:17

6. Holidays -3:38

7. Hurry Back Tonight 3:59

8. Now I Know 1:39

9. Take Your Time-3:24

10. From A Tire Swing-3:26

Leave a Reply

