Book Review: You Know What You Have To Do by Bonnie Shimko


16290037You Know What You Have To Do by Bonnie Shimko

Publisher: Amazon Children’s Publishing

Genre: Thriller and young adult

Release Date: March 26, 2013

Pages: 240 (Ebook)

You Know What You Have To Do

This quirky, appealing YA novel turns formulaic teen fiction on its head as funny, feisty fifteen year-old Mary-Magdalene Feigenbaum (otherwise known as Maggie) suddenly faces more than the usual typical YA concerns: a voice in her head that is telling her to kill people. Not just anyone—each time the target is someone who has done something terrible to a person Maggie cares for. You know what you have to do, the voice commands. Maggie struggles to resist, but the voice is relentless.

With rising suspense, this story of psychological horror introduces a narrator whose own unique voice and irreverent humor are unforgettable—an unlikely hero fighting a desperate battle against incomprehensible evil.

(My Opinion)

I hate when a synopsis mislead me and lie. I went in hoping for a quirky, fun read like it says, but instead, all I got was a very dark, slightly insensitive story about a teenage murderer. This is not a light or simple read. Quite frankly, I’m surprised I even finished it.

Maggie, as a character is very dull. There is close to no fight or feelings of remorse (that don’t feel forced and awkward) in the book. Every time the voice comes into her head, I waited, hoping that she would fight back and show that weirdo who’s boss! That doesn’t happen. Ever. She gives into the voice almost immediately and it really frustrated me. Also, Maggie doesn’t sound like, nor does she act like a fifteen year old. When I first started reading this, I honestly thought she was just starting middle school and not already in high school.She’s very petty and whiny, Bonnie Shimko did a poor job trying to get the protagonist to sound and seem the right age. I mean, I don’t even know thirteen year olds who would allow their parents to drive them to their first date. That is just so weird!

I hated how, for every new thing/person introduced in the story, there is immediately a summary or a bunch of facts about it. Although I don’t mind this happening a few times I cannot stand to have it right away for every single thing. Especially when it’s on things that are never mentioned again in the book. The ending isn’t much of an ending either. It just sort of stops and that’s it. It isn’t a cliffhanger, where she’s about to die or something intense and cool that leaves readers wanting more. It’s confusing and odd, I didn’t care for it at all.

Sadly, the only good thing I can say about this book is that I got through it. And I know that sounds awfully mean but even thinking back to everything that I like and dislike about this book, the like portion is nothing. I would not recommend this to anyone. It isn’t interesting, there is no fight in the protagonist that keeps me on my toes about what will happen next. Everything just kind of…sucked.

1.5 Clouds

1.5 Clouds

4 thoughts on “Book Review: You Know What You Have To Do by Bonnie Shimko

  1. Lying synopses are one of my pet peeves. Also when the cover doesn’t match what happens in the story. I hate that! But I’m sort of going off on a tangent.

    The whole parents driving their kids to a date when they’re 13 – I think that’s a cultural type thing. When I was in high school – right up until I graduated – I couldn’t drive. And I lived over 20 minutes drive from my school. My then boyfriend lived about the same distance away but in the other direction. When public transport sucks and driving yourself or walking isn’t an option – you get the parents to taxi you around. It wasn’t unusual for that to happen here. People don’t walk in my city.

    But I completely understand where you’re going with that. Some authors have the ability to tune into a teen’s mindset and other’s fail miserably. This sounds like a case of the later.

    I quite enjoyed your review – It sounds like a book I think I’ll avoid. High five for finishing it!

  2. I’d requested this on the strength of the cover, not heard back yet….. quite glad if its as creepy as you say!

Leave a Reply

