Book Review: My EX From Hell (The Blooming Goddess Trilogy#1) by Tellulah Darling


15749326Book Review: My EX From Hell (The Blooming Goddess Trilogy#1) by Tellulah Darling

Publisher: Te Da Media

Genre: Fantasy and young adult

Release Date: April 1, 2013

Pages: 272 (Ebook)

My Ex From Hell (The Blooming Goddess Trilogy #1)

 

Sixteen-year-old Sophie Bloom wishes she’d been taught the following:

a) Bad boy’s presence (TrOuBlE) + teen girl’s brain (DraMa) = TrAuMa (Highly unstable and very volatile.)
b) The Genus Greekulum Godissimus is notable for three traits: 1) awesome abilities, 2) grudges, and 3) hook-ups, break-ups, and in-fighting that puts cable to shame.

Prior to the Halloween dance, Sophie figures her worst problems involve adolescent theatrics, bitchy yoga girls, and being on probation at her boarding school for mouthy behaviour. Then she meets bad boy Kai and gets the kiss that rocks her world.

Literally.

This breath stealing lip lock reawakens Sophie’s true identity: Persephone, Goddess of Spring. She’s key to saving humanity in the war between the Underworld and Olympus, target numero uno of Hades and Zeus, and totally screwed.

Plus there’s also the little issue that Sophie’s last memory as Persephone was just before someone tried to murder her.

Big picture: master her powers, get her memories back, defeat Persephone’s would be assassin, and save the world. Also, sneak into the Underworld to retrieve stolen property, battle the minions of Hades and Zeus, outwit psycho nymphs, slay a dragon, rescue a classmate, keep from getting her butt expelled from the one place designed to keep her safe …

… and stop kissing Kai, Prince of the Underworld.

First of all, I would like to thank the Publisher, Te Da Media for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

(My Opinion)

I am stunned into silence. Wow. Tellulah tells a story about a teenaged Goddess who has spunk, fight, and a very sarcastic mouth. The story is told from the perspective of Sophie Bloom A.K.A. Persephone. The beginning of the story is what I was expecting. It’s too fast and far too much like a journal for my liking. Sophie seems to play everything out  a little too much. There is also the never-ending amount of clichés.  It also plays a lot into the high school stereotypes with the evil queen bee dating the hottest guy around and what-not. But somewhere in the middle, it changes and it’s enjoyable and funny and I love it!  Nonetheless, I love the relationship between Kai and Theo, it’s hilarious and grin-worthy. The fights and sarcastic dialogue they use makes it hard to put the book down. My Ex From Hell is definitely a book to read on a rainy day.

I like the characters. I really do. But I hate how easily they accept that Sophie is a goddess with crazy powers. Sure, someone faints and everyone is like, “Omg! No! I don’t believe it!” But I was expecting more disbelief and more… suspicion. I think Tellulah Darling could have played this out for a much longer period than she does in the book. It just did not feel real to me. Another thing I don’t like about the book is that I’m constantly being pulled out of the story. Although it’s mostly to make a funny point, being pulled out of the book at least twice in every chapter gets annoying.

Out of all the characters, I never thought that I would like the protagonist, Sophie the most. I never thought so because I usually don’t like the protagonist the most in books. But I do, she’s addicting with her quirky self, shooting balls of light at the bad guys. She kicks some serious ass and I love the romance between Sophie and Kai because it’s entertaining. They always have something to yell at each other about.Greek myths and modern-day life intertwine beautifully with creatures that could easily pass as bikers and Scream impersonators. I wasn’t expecting the ending with everything that’s happened with the gang. A great twist to end the story with!

My Ex From Hell is a humourous and fun way to start a trilogy full of creepy creatures and annoying ex’s. I recommend this to everyone who loves Greet Mythology and a romance that has been to Hell and back (literally). My Date From Hell comes out some time next year and I for one, cannot wait to read it!

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

One thought on “Book Review: My EX From Hell (The Blooming Goddess Trilogy#1) by Tellulah Darling

Leave a Reply

