The Immortal Rules (Blood Of Eden#1) By Julie Kagawa


15803761The Immortal Rules (Blood Of Eden#1) by Julie Kagawa

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: March 26, 2013

Pages: 485 (Ebook)
The Immortal Rules (Blood Of Eden #1)

To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred ofthem—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for …again.

(My Opinion)

This book has been on my TBR list for quite some time. And although I started it about a year ago, I honestly thought that I wasn’t going to finish it anytime soon. I am so glad that I did! Allison is such a badass character who’s very fun to read about. The book is told from the perspective of Allison and at first, her life as a human and then her life as a vampire.

The Immortal Rules could have been shorter. Somewhere in the middle of the story, it starts to get sloppy and boring with Allison just exploring the place around her. I also don’t like the way Julie Kagawa portrays the only other female character as this bitchy girl who hates Allison for no reason. Although this does happen in real life, I feel like she overdid this a little too much for my taste.

I love how cool and fearless Allison is even when facing dangerous, evil creatures (especially when she was human). It’s a nice change-up from the average girl who needs to always be saved. The writing style throughout the book has this sense of dauntlessness to it. While reading this, I felt braver, as if I could kick some major Vampire ass of my own.

Nonetheless, this book is about vampires. It does take place in a post-apocalyptic setting but it’s like many other dystopian. And I didn’t care much for the romance (but Zeke is so precious though), I didn’t feel annoyed by it. Julie Kagawa does a fine job writing a story about something so overdone and mainstream and putting her own little twists and turns to make it something different. I cannot wait to finally read The Eternity Cure which is the second book in the Blood Of Eden series.

Four Dreamy Clouds

Four Dreamy Clouds

2 thoughts on “The Immortal Rules (Blood Of Eden#1) By Julie Kagawa

  1. Pingback: Favourite Book Quotes Of The Week#26 | A Lot Like Dreaming

  2. Pingback: The Darkangel | LÉIA BEVILACQUA

Leave a Reply

