Album Review: Able Bodies by From Indian Lakes


tumblr_md53fzohwh1qjcvneo1_500

Able Bodies by From Indian Lakes

Record Label: Independent

Genre: Pop/Rock

Release Date: November 13, 2012

Songs: 11
Able Bodies - From Indian Lakes

From Indian Lakes is from Yosemite Valley, California. The band released their debut full-length record, “The Man With Wooden Legs” in the Winter of 2009. The songs that were spawned out of this release reflect the bands’ collective maturity and purpose while being surrounded by music that is otherwise derivative and lacking in any sort of defining positive characteristics. Since their initial debut, the band has been working endlessly, playing countless shows throughout the US as well as dedicating time in the studio in preparation for their upcoming full-length. The next release, entitled Able Bodies, is already garnering wide acclaim with both longtime fans as well as those who have just recently discovered the band.

Able Bodies moves several steps forward in their maturity and depth, while still retaining the aggression, passion and darkness of their debut. Current band members are: Joey Vannuchi’s (vocals, guitar), Enrique Gutierrez (Keys), Justin Stanphill (Guitar), and Guy Samuelson (Drums).

(My Opinion)

Funny, the first time I listened to a song by this band, I thought they sucked. Of course, now, I’ve come to my senses and realized just how amazing they are. This album is pretty much perfect. I mean, really. There are some unpredictable songs on this album like Anything and We Follow. As listeners really get into We Follow, the instruments except for drums and a random guitar string or two stop playing and a small, heartbreaking monologue comes out which is sung by lead singer, Joey Vannuchi. Throughout the album, there are a lot of different song structures that listeners don’t normally hear. Your Son doesn’t necessarily have a chorus, it’s just a story about pain and loss which I think is a hauntingly amazing song. Actually, this is an amazing album and I think everyone should go buy it. Right now.

What makes me fall in love with this album over and over again is the fact that everything about it is so easy to love. From the bass drum that just somehow completes a song to the lyrics that compliment the sound. The lyrics hold a lot of meaning not only to the band, but I also think to the listeners, they’re easy to relate to especially I Don’t Know You and Till I Can Walk by talking about love, happiness, and just how horrible the world can be sometimes. Another thing I love about Able Bodies is that everyone gets noticed, everyone gets a part that shows off their different talents. What I mean by this is that in: Paintings, Till I Can Walk, We Are Sick, and We Follow the drummer really lets it all out and goes, well, sort of wild and I love it. In: Your Son, We Follow, Stay Outside, Breaking My Bones the vocalist gets sudden (sort of) solos and can hit really high notes that show his strength and experience with his voice. In most songs, the bass gets a cool, unique duet with mostly the drums which is a plus because rarely is the bass even heard. And of course, I adore the guitar parts and solos that are in almost every song.

Able Bodies  is something unexpected. It’s raw and talented and just…beautiful. I recommend this album to everyone, especially to indie rock lovers because this is a beautiful album about life and how fucked everything is. Off of Able Bodies, my favourite songs are: We Follow, I Don’t Know You, Till I Can Walk, and Paintings. but I love every song so just listen to them all. Or buy the album and see them live!

Five Beautiful Treble Clefs

Five Beautiful Treble Clefs

 

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1. Anything-4:04

2. We Are Sick-3:14

3. Paintings-3:18

4. Breaking My Bones-3:48

5. I Don’t Know You-3:32

6. Stay Outside-4:34

7. Below-4:37

8. My Mouth, My Lips-4:30

9. Your Son-3:24

10. We Follow-3:49

11. ‘Till I Can Walk-4:54

Leave a Reply

