Album Review: Sunflower by Never Shout Never


images (2)

Sunflower by Never Shout Never

Record Label: Loveway Records

Genre: Indie/Pop

Release Date: June 28, 2013

Songs: 12
Sunflower - Never Shout Never

Never Shout Never is an American indie/pop band, formed in Joplin, Missouri in 2007. The group has released Five full-length albums: What Is Love?, Harmony, Time Travel, Indigo, and Sunflower  and four EPs: The Summer EP, Never Shout Never , Me And My Uke, and The Yippee. The band was first a one-man show with only Christofer Drew who started by posting a few songs on Myspace. Now, the band has a bassist who does vocals (Taylor MacFee) and a drummer who also plays guitar and does vocals (Hayden Kaiser).

opinion

I really hate to say it, but I think it’s time Never Shout Never called it quits. And I hate, repeat hate when bands break up. No mater how much or how little I enjoy the band, it just sucks that they’re letting their fans down. But this album..it’s just letting the fans down either way.

Almost every about this album gets on my nerves. Especially Aeroplane because it sounds exactly like California only with different lyrics. The vocals throughout the album are drawn out to the point where I can’t bring myself to care what he’s saying or even try to pay attention. I can deal with a few slow songs with a nice beat to accompany it but I can’t deal with slow vocals and then fast guitar and drum parts.

Lady Bug is a really well written song, I love the live version they did on their YouTube channel instead of this one. The version on Sunflower is very loud and not in a comforting way. But, I still like the song itself with the romantically sad lyrics and great guitar riffs. Sunflower is just a really depressing album. Not because of the songs, but because of the band. I don’t recommend this to anyone. If anyone wants to find new music, stick to the old Never Shout Never I think everyone can agree that it’s a lot better.

one ah

1.5 Sad Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1.New Sound– 3:38

2. Good Times-4:06

3. Wild Child-3:07

4. I Need You-3:08

5. Falling Up-3:10

6. Subliminal Messages-2:44

7. Aeroplane-4:01

8. Sunflower-3:03

9. Malibu-2:24

10. Knock, Knock-3:35

11. Old Timer-3:00

12. Ladybug-2:39

One thought on “Album Review: Sunflower by Never Shout Never

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update#5 | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

