Song of the Week#3-Terrible Things by Mayday Parade (Pass The Tissues Edition)


song of the week

This is a weekly meme that’s for the most part, the same as Song Of The Day except each week there will be a different ‘edition’ and it’s going to be updated once a week. This week’s edition is: Pass The Tissues. Every time. Every time I listen to this song my throat gets a little tight and my eyes get moist. It’s just so sad. 

download

Mayday Parade  is an American rock band from Tallahassee, Florida. They came out with their first EP back in 2006 without the help of a label which sold around 20, 000 copies. Since then, they have released three albums and two EPs. Terrible Things is off of their second EP, Valdosta.

This is a really sad song. No, love story. About a boy and a girl and the terrible things that can happen to someone you love *tear rolls down cheek*. I don’t understand how someone can feel absolutely nothing while listening to a song like this. The first time I listened to it I was in tears.

My favourite part is:

She said, “Boy can I tell you, a terrible thing?
It seems that I’m sick and I’ve only got weeks.
Please, don’t be sad now, I really believe
You were the greatest thing that ever happened to me”

Slow, so slow
I fell to the ground, on my knees

So don’t fall in love, there’s just too much to lose
If given the choice, then, I’m begging you, choose
To walk away, walk away, don’t let her get you.
I can’t bear to see the same happen to you.

To listen to Terrible Things click here.

Lyrics are here.

Leave a comment