Album review: Whenever, If Ever by The World is a Beautiful Place and I am No Longer Afraid To Die

images (3)

Whenever, If Ever by The World is a Beautiful Place and I am No Longer Afraid To Die

Record Label: Topshelf Records

Genre: Post-rock

Release Date: June 18, 2013

Songs: 10
good good

The World is a Beautiful Place & I am No Longer Afraid to Die are an atmospheric emo / indie rock band formed in Fall 2009 in Willimantic, CT. The band has released three EPS: Formlessness, Josh Is Dead, and Are Here To Help You. And Two albums: Demos and Whenever, If Ever. Band members are-David Bello (Vocals), Josh Cyr (Bass), Derrick Shanholtzer-Dvorak (Guitar, Vocals), Greg Horbal (Guitar, Vocals), Steven Buttery (Drums), Chris Teti (Guitar, Trumpet), Katie Shanholtzer-Dvorak (Keyboards, vocals), and Julia Peters (Cello).


It’s not easy to describe every band that I listen to. Sure, some bands are far easier than others but still, the effort and indecisiveness are still there for them. However, with The World is a Beautiful Place, it’s just like that, I love some of their songs but then I don’t understand others, I can’t wait to see them live but I don’t think I’ll be able to get into their music as much as my friends do. It’s confusing but what isn’t confusing is how great this album is.

There’s always going to be something that I dislike about an album, always. Maybe not at first but always soon after and with Whenever, If Ever, that something are the vocals but mostly the back-up vocals. They sound extremely off-key and sloppily done compared to the lead vocalist and hearing them both together just shows that.

What I did like about this album is how some songs start and other songs finish on the same note as well as the fact that all the songs have a great build-up, especially in Getting Sodas. The emotion and tone that this album gives off as a whole is great and gives off that actual ‘gig life’ feeling that every teenager wants to experience at least once.

The World is a Beautiful Place handed me a slow album that I was expecting yet I appreciate it either way because it sounds great. The drumming and bass pieces and executed lovely with just the right amount of strength and build-up that makes each song better. I recommend this album to anyone who enjoys the post-rock genre and don’t mind a few slow songs that have tremendous build-ups. My favourite songs are-Gig Life, Getting Sodas, You Will Never Go to Space, and Ultimate Steve.

4 awesome Treble Clefs
4 awesome Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1. Blank #9-2:13

2. Heartbeat In the Brain-5:42

3. Fightboat-2:05

4. Picture of a Tree That Doesn’t Look Okay-4:02

5. You Will Never Go To Space-2:25

6. Layers of Skin We Drag Around-1:34

7. Ultimate Steve-4:04

8. Gig Life-3:00

9. Low Light Assembly-3:20

10. Getting Sodas-7:01

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s