Song of the Week#7-Dynamiter by Maycomb (Based on a Book Edition)


song of the week

 

This is a weekly meme that’s for the most part, the same as Song Of The Day except each week there will be a different ‘edition’ and it’s going to be updated once a week. This week’s edition is:Based on a Book! This song is loosely based of off the classic novel, The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. Now, I haven’t read the novel but it’s on my TBR list so hopefully I can get to it soon!

4025029922-1

 

Maycomb is a melody driven pop-punk band, hailing from the West Midlands. Armed with a diverse, intricate, harmony focused sound, they’ve spent the past few years touring the UK, building a widespread and loyal fan base. After sharing stages with the likes of Saves The Day, The Wonder Years, and The Starting Line, the band are gearing up to release their long-awaited debut album, I Opened My Heart To Caustic Things, on I Am Mighty Records at the tail end of 2012.

I reviewed this album a few months ago and although I didn’t really care for the album, I really like this music video!  “Loosely based on “The Fountainhead” by Ayn Rand, ‘Dynamiter’ is about keeping your integrity and staying true to yourself, especially when presented with the option of taking the easy way out and caving in to other people’s expectations. The video is a continuation of these themes, along with the idea of destroying something fundamentally flawed in order to start anew; the books that are discovered and eventually burned representing miss-steps, failures, and the naivety of past decisions.”-The band, Maycomb

My favourite part is:

Go back to the start; it’s like you’re trying too hard
And when did you get so cynical?
Those things you build with your heart;
When we tear them apart, it’s really nothing personal
But we’ll make a target out of you if your guard is down

Bend and break and dilute my best intentions
I’ve got nothing to prove; I’ve learnt that lesson

 

You can watch Dynamiter here.

Bandpage is here.

Leave a Reply

