Album Review: Talon of the Hawk by The Front Bottoms


images (4)

Talon of the Hawk by The Front Bottoms

Record Label: Bar None records

Genre: Indie/Pop Punk

Release Date: May 21, 2013

Songs: 12
good good

The Front Bottoms are an American acoustic-indie-punk band originating from New Jersey that formed in 2006. The duo have since released two albums: The Front Bottoms and Talon of the Hawk. Band members are: Brian Sella (Vocals, Guitar) and Mathew Uychich (Drums, Bullhorn, Megaphone).

opinion

With my musical taste expanding, I feel odd reviewing this album since it’s so…weird. And by weird I don’t mean the lyrics like in Mad World or the band’s sound like Panic! At The Disco but I mean weird because they’ve been touring and making music for years and have a record deal yet they sound so…new. And young and I can easily see why many of my friends like them because they give off a teenage feel with their sound and more importantly, their lyrics. ultimately I’m not yet sure whether I like The Front Bottoms or not just yet since there are a few things about them I just can’t overlook.

With many bands, the vocals have to be proper and reel listeners in but above all, they have to be in tune. The front Bottom’s vocalist isn’t, throughout the whole album, in tune. It took everything in me not to start banging my head against my computer to help with how uncomfortable the singing made me. This type of singing only works during concerts and not recordings because with concerts, as long as you’re saying the lyrics no one cares but it matters when the song is being recorded. Moreover, I found that on top of bad vocals, some of the tempos in songs, especially in The Feud, are too fast for the vocals so everything just crashes and burns a merciless death. I also hate the build-ups in songs like Swear to God, the Devil Made Me Do it where there’s such a great build-up that just disappears into thin air without any sort of release. WHY MUST YOU DO THAT, FRONT BOTTOMS? WHY?! Ugh, that shit ain’t cool.

Moving on, I did like a few things about these songs with one of them being the nicely executed guitar riffs and solos that are presented in Swear to God, the Devil Made Me do it, Twin Sized Mattress, and Tattooed Tears. What makes me believe that this album is directed mostly if not completely towards my age group are the lyrics about having to grow up too fast and needing a friend as well as helping a friend out with lyrics like, “You stopped by my house the night you escaped/With tears in my eyes, I begged you to stay/You said, “Hey man, I love you but no fucking way”/I’m sure that we could find something for you to do on stage./Maybe shake a tambourine or when I sing, you sing harmonies.” (Taken from, Twin Size Mattress) Remember that friend that helped you out a shit ton? Because I sure as fuck do.

Overall, Talon of the Hawk by The Front Bottoms isn’t a bad piece of work. If anything, I think that a lot of teenagers and twenty-one year olds will love this and remember all those times that shit has happened but someone was there for them. I recommend this to anyone who likes this genre or are looking for some really great lyrics. My favourite songs are: Twin Size Mattress, Peach, Au Revoir (Adios), and Funny You Should Ask. 

3 Sexy Treble Clefs

3 Sexy Treble Clefs

Songs On The Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1. Au Revoir (Adios)-1:51

2. Skeleton-3:41

3. Swear to God, the Devil Made Me Do it-3:36

4. Twin Size Mattress-4:26

5. Peach-3:11

6. Santa Monica-4:11

7. The Feud-3:16

8. Funny You Should Ask-3:36

9. Tattooed Tears-3:56

10. Lone Star-3:53

11. Blackflip-3:51

12. Everything I Own-3:46

Leave a Reply

