Book Review: Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Sáenz


6413788

Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Publisher: Cinco Puntos Press

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: September 1, 2009

Pages: 239 (Hardcover)

good good

Zach is eighteen. He is bright and articulate. He’s also an alcoholic and in rehab instead of high school, but he doesn’t remember how he got there. He’s not sure he wants to remember. Something bad must have happened. Something really, really bad. Remembering sucks and being alive – well, what’s up with that?

opinion

Zach’s story is quite interesting, it hooked me in from the very first page and I couldn’t look away. All of his struggles and pains and monsters are quite complex and unique and are really relatable.

I hate it when authors use certain words or phrases to start a paragraph or to end one. With Last Night I Sang to the Monster, most, if not all paragraphs start with, “Look”, “I get it,” or “Fine”. And then end with “okay”. All the time, every single time and I found it to be really annoying. I also didn’t like the ending because I found it to be a little to tied up far too nicely for it to be really realistic.

All of the characters are realistic and interesting. I loved reading about all the crap that Zach has been through and his journey to remembering what happened all the months ago, it’s heartbreaking and exciting and beautiful. There isn’t a romance in this novel which actually is a good thing, adding a romance to a novel that is focused on recovering would have been far too much and would have taken away from it but I did like all of the friendships that are shown throughout. Especially between Raphael and Zach because it’s so intense and loving and they’re both very broken bt somehow help each other out in a tremendous way.

Last Night I Sang to the Monster has many messages throughout the book but one of them I really like is: Change isn’t for everyone and some people don’t want it. And you have to be okay with that. I recommend this novel to everyone because it’s the type of story that I think will open up everyone’s mind about why people do drugs and act the way that they do.

4 Dreamy Clouds

4 Fluffy Clouds

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

