Book Review: Sweet Peril (Sweet#2) by Wendy Higgins


15768191

Sweet Peril (Sweet#2) by Wendy Higgins

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: April 30, 2013

Pages: 371 (Paperback)

good good

Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?

opinion

This series has just about everything that annoys me in it– a whiny main character, an overrated love triangle, ‘the chosen one’ who isn’t very special, etc. But the thing is, I love it. I actually enjoy this series! There’s only a few things that actually pisses me off about this series and I like to call it one of my guilty pleasures.

In Sweet Peril, Anna is more annoying than she was in the first one, constantly thinking about Kaidan and not enough on the tasks at hand. I felt just about ready to smack her a few times. the romance between Kope and Zania is also another issue for me because it’s not realistic how a woman who despises men would do something against that after only a few weeks of kindness from one. But that’s not why I’m giving it such an average rating. It has to do with the ending and how melodramatic it is. There’s a great penultimate chapter and then just a ‘meh’ ending which drove me insane.

But, I did like the characters a little more this time around even though Jay isn’t around most of the novel. I loved how dark this one is compared to Sweet Evil because it’s a bit scary and a hell of a lot more fun to read about all of the dangerous things that Anna has to do. Speaking of dark parts, the romance is steamy and so very hot. Higgins doesn’t hold back at all when Anna and Kaidan are in the same room and I absolutely love it! 

With only the finally book in this series left, I’m really hoping for a killer ending that will leave me satisfied. I really loved the characters and the different settings that take place in this one but I didn’t enjoy Anna for most of the novel and he obsession over Kaidan. Still, I recommend this novel to anyone who has read the first one and readers who enjoy stories about angels and demons and half angels and all of their sexiness.

3 Clouds

3 Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

