Book Review: Clean by Amy Reed


9491739

Clean by Amy Reed

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: May 8, 2012

Pages: 304 (Paperback)

good good

You’re probably wondering how I ended up here. I’m still wondering the same thing.

Olivia, Kelly, Christopher, Jason, and Eva have one thing in common: They’re addicts. Addicts who have hit rock bottom and been stuck together in rehab to face their problems, face sobriety, and face themselves. None of them wants to be there. None of them wants to confront the truths about their pasts. And they certainly don’t want to share their darkest secrets and most desperate fears with a room of strangers. But they’ll all have to deal with themselves—and one another—if they want to learn how to live. Because when you get that high, there’s nowhere to go but down, down, down.

opinion

 

Sometimes, shit happens and depending on it, it can really mess a person up. I love how Amy Reed has shown this with all of her characters. They all have their different personalities, families, and preferred drugs. Their lives are intriguing and exciting yet sad and vulnerable at the same time. The road to recovery is one of the hardest ones there is because it has to do with self recover and self discovery.

Jason is by far my favourite character in this novel so of course I wanted a lot more from him than what I received. And this is partly because actual chapters are only told from Christopher and Kelly’s perspective. I love poetic writing but I have ADD so the constant writing for Eva lost my attention more often than not. I appreciate the creative style and how her story is told from a little girl’s perspective rather than in first person but sometimes a little bit of simplicity goes a long way for me.

Clean has short chapters between the actual chapters. These sort chapters are mostly with the group and I love these chapters because they’re simple and realistic, like an actual group of teenagers speaking their minds of a certain thing and explaining their thoughts. The characters are all realistic with their problems, I found it easy to relate to them all in some way because I’ve been or know how it feels to be in their situations.

Amy Reed is an author that I feel like understands the amount of crap that teenagers face in life. I recommend this novel to everyone because it’s not just a novel for teens but for adults as well and I think everyone can learn a few things from it.

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

