Book Review: Tandem (Many-Worlds Trilogy#1) by Anna Jarzab


15829686

Tandem (Many-Worlds Trilogy#1) by Anna Jarzab

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Genre: Science Fiction and Young Adult

Release Date: October 8, 2013

Pages: 428 (Hardcover)

good good

Everything repeats.
You. Your best friend. Every person you know.
Many worlds. Many lives–infinite possibilities.
Welcome to the multiverse.

Sixteen-year-old Sasha Lawson has only ever known one small, ordinary life. When she was young, she loved her grandfather’s stories of parallel worlds inhabited by girls who looked like her but led totally different lives. Sasha never believed such worlds were real–until now, when she finds herself thrust into one against her will.

To prevent imminent war, Sasha must slip into the life of an alternate version of herself, a princess who has vanished on the eve of her arranged marriage. If Sasha succeeds in fooling everyone, she will be returned home; if she fails, she’ll be trapped in another girl’s life forever. As time runs out, Sasha finds herself torn between two worlds, two lives, and two young men vying for her love–one who knows her secret, and one who thinks she’s someone she’s not.

First of all, I would like to thank the Publisher, Delacorte Books for Young Readers for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Science fiction really isn’t a genre I like reading about and I’m not sure why that is, but my lack of comfort for this genre runs very deep (since I was a wee little thing) and most, if not all sci-fi books leave me with a ‘meh’ feeling and rarely get anything higher than an average rating from me. So I wasn’t surprised that by the end of Tandem that I was left with a bored feeling and nothing more. The novel starts off pretty well and then falls miserably down to boring and ends on a ‘meh’ note.

The worst part of Tandem is the middle where the story is pretty much formed. I had such a huge problem with it because it’s the same story as any other that has a princess. She either wants the prince and the guard or they both want her and it’s just so annoying and typical and I couldn’t take it. Another thing that I disliked is the world of Aurora since it only felt half done and 2-dimensional to me. I would have also liked the characters to be a lot less choppy and contrived. Many things about Thomas, especially his feelings towards Sasha feel very forced and odd.

Tandem does have a few good qualities that I found interesting like the idea of different worlds. This isn’t my first alternate universe novel so I’m a bit used to this idea but I love how Anna Jarzab adds a unique spin to this by making every person their own so that they’re not the exact same in two universes. That’s a very cool thing that I liked thinking about! The writing style for all three characters are fairly different, especially Thomas and Sasha and I found that I didn’t really mind the third person writing for Thomas because it fits well with the story.

For me, I feel really conflicted about how to rate this and how accurate I am about it. I did like the story, it’s entertaining as well as a little thought-provoking yet it’s also very bumpy and typical. However I still recommend this to anyone who enjoys novels about alternate universe and princesses that are stuck in the middle of things. Hopefully the second book in this trilogy will help me enjoy this genre more than I have in the past but that’s unlikely. Maybe I like them better in another universe?

3 Clouds

3 Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Tandem (Many-Worlds Trilogy#1) by Anna Jarzab

  1. Thanks for reviewing this! I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to read this one when it comes out. Mostly because I love the cover and alternate universes sometimes interest me, but I think this seals the idea that I wouldn’t be very interested in it. You’re completely right about how all princess books are the same.

  2. This book hasn’t even crossed my path yet…until today. I think it’s a bit out of my genre but it does seem interesting. I don’t know if i’ll give it a shot right away but i’m not ruling it out.
    Great review 🙂
    Lily @ Lilysbookblog

Leave a Reply

