Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards (Book Review+Guest Post!)


17343998

Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: October 1, 2013

Pages: 336 (Paperback)

good good

Chloe didn’t think about it much when she nodded off in study hall on that sleepy summer day. But when she wakes up, snow is on the ground and she can’t remember the last six months of her life. Before, she’d been a mediocre student. Now, she’s on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools. Before, she never had a chance with super jock Blake. Now he’s her boyfriend. Before, she and Maggie were inseparable. Now her best friend won’t speak to her.

What happened to her?
And why can’t she remember?

First of all, I would like to thank the Publisher, Sourcebooks Fire for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

This is a bit of a stretch but I was initially attracted to this novel because Chloe forgot six months of her life and I am a very forgetful person… so we sort of share that. Anyway, Natalie D. Richards is an author that I know I will read more novels by her when they come out. Her writing style, characters, and setting reeled me in and didn’t let go until the last page. Even though there are a few predictable things about it, this story is realistic and I enjoyed it a lot despite that. 

Six Months Later is quite messy and I understand that it would be since Chloe doesn’t know what’s going on but I was still left a bit confused and was forced to re-read a few things. There are a few things in this novel that are glaringly obvious from the beginning, like who’s involved with certain things and with that being said, the ride didn’t feel as fun and exciting as it could have been.

What I did like about this book is the humour that’s easily weaved into the text. It doesn’t feel forced. The writing has a nice mix of intense scenes and realism that I love to read about. The relationship between Chloe and Maggie is sweet and realistic, I love how Richards put obstacles in their way and when they overcame them, they still weren’t ‘buddy-buddy’ again which made me smile all the more. Another thing that I liked about Six Months Later are the male leads because they are so different yet so alike. Throughout the whole novel, Blake and Adam are seen and judged by their pasts rather than by the present which made a huge deal with a lovely lesson about– people should never be judged by their pasts because they don’t matter as much as their actions right now do.

Generally, I don’t read many books about amnesia because many of them are the same and I never feel entertained enough by the end. However, Six Months Later is different in the sense that there’s an easy humour to it and also has a love triangle that isn’t in the least bit annoying or over done. It fits the novel really well and I recommend this novel to people who love amnesic main characters, love triangles that aren’t annoying, or just love mystery novels.

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

3.5 Dreamy Clouds

 

Now, onto the guest post! This is a character spotlight on Adam Reed by Natalie D. Richards. She’s been really awesome and fun to talk to, as well as made me fall even harder for Adam when I finished reading this so check it out below!

Adam Reed:  A Spotlight

                “I admit it, I play favorites with my characters.  Every character is special and meaningful and…oh, that’s not the point. The point is, some characters just stay with you. You get a character crush, like the one I have on my hero from Six Months Later, Adam Reed.

Every hero is fun, but Adam was something special.  Here’s some of the many things that make him who he is.”-Natalie D. Richards

 

Basic Details:     6″2 with dark hair and blue eyes.  More prone to smirking than smiling.

Likes?                   Red pop, breakfast at all hours, bridges and skyscrapers (you’ll see), and Chloe.

Dislikes?              Messy rooms, giggly girly-girls, being trapped between a rock and a hard place,                                                                 and Blake.

What he Drives:             car                 

                Three Songs on his iPod Right Now:

Lonely Boy — The Black Keys

Comeback — Redlight King

Staring at the Sun — TV On The Radio

 

How teachers might describe him:

Academically gifted, but a troubled young man

What do other guys think?

“I heard that dude got arrested for manslaughter or something.”-Some random dude.

And the girls?   

                “With a face that pretty, he can break all the laws he wants.”-Some random chick.

 

Last, but not least, how does Chloe see Adam? 

“Six feet and a couple of inches of something that scares me half to death.”  — Six Months Later

 

Let’s see if the journey she takes in Six Months Later changes that.  😉

 

Abbe, thank you so much for having me today!  I had an amazing time here and really enjoyed this idea!

6 thoughts on “Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards (Book Review+Guest Post!)

  1. Pingback: {The Ballad} by Ashley Pullo {38¢} | Fifty5Cents Book Blog

Leave a Reply

