Book Review: The Vow by Jessica Martinez


17170553

The Vow by Jessica Martinez

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: October 15, 2013

Pages: 432 (Hardcover)

good good

No one has ever believed that Mo and Annie are just friends. How can a guy and a girl really be best friends?

Then the summer before senior year, Mo’s father loses his job, and by extension his work visa. Instantly, life for Annie and Mo crumbles. Although Mo has lived in America for most of his life, he’ll be forced to move to Jordan. The prospect of leaving his home is devastating, and returning to a world where he no longer belongs terrifies him.

Desperate to save him, Annie proposes they tell a colossal lie—that they are in love. Mo agrees because marrying Annie is the only way he can stay. Annie just wants to keep her best friend, but what happens when it becomes a choice between saving Mo and her own chance at real love?

First of all, I would like to thank the Publisher, Simon Pulse for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

At a glance, reading the synopsis, this story sounds completely…ridiculous. It does, and for the better part of the novel, I couldn’t bring myself to understand why anyone would want to write a novel about this. But near the end I could see why because this is a huge issue and the longer you think about it, it’s a story about friendship but deeper and has a lot more meaning. The Vow is maybe the book that defines the line between best friends and best friends.

Characters aren’t distinguished enough for me, I had to keep flipping back to see who I was reading about. It didn’t help that chapter’s end and start with the same sentence as the previous one. Also I had a hard time connecting with both Annie and Mo and feeling sorry for their situation. I understood that Mo’s life sucks but I couldn’t really understand how Annie needs him in her life or else she’ll die. I think this is because of how the story is paced since it’s so horribly off. At the beginning of the book, the story is so extremely slow but it’s fine since the friendship had to be shown to readers but then out of nowhere, it’s unbelievably fast with everything only being half explained or done.

I liked that the novel changes and is tells both sides of the story even though they sound similar it’s still nice to know not only what Annie’s thinking but also how Mo is feeling since he’s the one who’s leaving. The sarcasm is pretty well done, and Jessica Martinez uses just the right amount of racism to get people to realize that it plays a huge part in life but not enough to make people uncomfortable.

The Vow isn’t a novel that I expected to get something out of but I’m glad that I did. However I hated how apathetic I felt towards everything and everyone in it and I couldn’t enjoy this as much as I wanted to. Still, I recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a novel that has a better message than story. I don’t think I could ever attempt to do the things or give up things that both Annie and Mo have done just to keep their friendship alive because it’s such a hard thing to do. For anyone.

2.5 Clouds

2.5 Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

