Album Review: Home is Where You Make it by The Masquerades


Home Is Where You Make It

Home is Where You Make it by The Masquerades 

Record Label: Independent

Genre: Pop Punk

Release Date: June 18, 2013

Songs: 5
good

The Masquerade is a Pop Punk band from Erie, Pennsylvania formed in 2013. The band is composed of Geo Martinez, Brandon Eaton, TJ Hess and Dakota Valerio.

First of all, I would like to thank the Publicist, Umusicians for giving me a copy of this cd to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

The Masquerades are a tricky band to talk about since this is their début and I’d hate to believe that this is the best music they can produce.  I can see that they have a lot of potential and enthusiasm for what they do. Unfortunately, I can’t say that I feel more than admiration for them when I listen to this album that displays everything boring with pop punk and why it’s so hard to stay in this type of genre. At no point could I fully or even partially connect with this band on a personal level which plays a huge part on how I rate their product.

The lyrics are all so generic and simple. I couldn’t relate to them nor did they seem special for the band either, they just sound like the same songs that have been played over and over again but other bands only with a different band name. With song titles that are extremely straight up and sum up the lyrics like for Best Day of my Life, the Weekend, and All my Life, it’s no wonder that I couldn’t bring myself to like them. I also don’t like the guitar bits and riffs because they sound a bit too strong for the songs and feel odd.

With what I said before, I admire their dedication and their enthusiasm but I just wished that it was put to better use and worked on their sound, making it smoother and a lot more relatable.

Overall, Home is Where You Make it is an album I was expecting a lot more from. I think that they have a very long way to go and that they need to take a few steps out f the generically produced music pool and start coming out with songs that actually hold meaning without so much repetition and sameness. Still, I’ll be looking out for this band and hoping that they come out with something  a lot smoother and well finished than this debut. After all, EPs are not the same as albums for a reason.

Two Boring Treble Clefs

Two Boring Treble Clefs

Songs on the Album

1. The Weekend*

2. Best Day of my Life-3:16

3. Back Up Plan*

4. Set Your Mind to it-4:02

5. All my Life*

*Song couldn’t be found on YouTube, sorry!

Leave a Reply

