Book Review: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion#1) by Aimee Carter


17679542Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion#1) by Aimee Carter

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Dystopian and Young Adult

Release Date: November 26, 2013

Pages: 296 (Hardcover)

good good

YOU CAN BE A VII IF YOU GIVE EVERYTHING.

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked – surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed, and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Harlequin Teen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

After reading as many reviews as I have on this story and how awesome it is and creative for a novel in this genre, I must say that I’m really…tired. I’m so unbelievably tired of getting my hopes up especially with dystopian novels. Pawn started off very promising and even though it’s not the best beginning ever, it had my attention and I was definitely excited but then it starts to falter and become boring once the story reaches the Hart family. After this, I knew the outcome, I knew the twists and I was tired. A once exciting read left me feeling bored and more than not, apathetic.

Pawn is pretty predictable. After reading as many books as I have that are either dystopias or involve some sort of ‘replacement’ the things that would have helped this novel stick out more actually made me roll me eyes with boredom. For most of the crazy surprises that fellow reviewers found interesting and creative I found lacking especially when they involve the Hart family (mostly Lila, Celia, and Augusta). Another thing that I found lack is the ranking system, not only because it’s been done before, but also because it’s sloppily executed. Upon finishing the book, I still didn’t know what half of the rankings (2’s, 4’s, and 5’s) exactly do for a living or help society. The romance between Kitty and Benji is a hard one to swallow too since it began before the book actually started. It’s evident that they really care for each other but it was hard to actually care for them as a couple or even for Benji as an individual because of how short the journey with him is.

Aimee Carter has some nice ideas, I’ll give her that though. Many scenes are done beautifully like the Elsewhere scene. I was expecting something awful but not with such vivid execution. Her writing made a lot more of the story realistic and exciting, always giving off an intense tone even when I was feeling bored. The characters for the most part are quite likeable and I enjoyed Knox and how sketchy he is. His relationship with Kitty is well done and complex and confusing. It had me guessing quite a bit.

Overall, not a bad book. It does have its moments both good and bad and I think that if I hadn’t read as many books with the same overall plot, I really do think that I would have enjoyed it more. Kitty is a likeable enough character with just enough spunk and energy to help the story along without seeming whiny. I recommend this to anyone who loves reading novels with replacements and dystopian novels through and through because this one is pretty good and I’m looking forward to what will happen in the next installment.

3 Clouds

3 Clouds

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion#1) by Aimee Carter

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update#8 | A Lot Like Dreaming

  2. Pingback: ARC Review: Pawn | A World of Books

  3. Pingback: Pawn by Aimee Carter| Review | The Librarian Who Doesn't Say "Shhh"

  4. Pingback: Pawn by Aimee Carter| Review | The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Leave a Reply

