Album Review: Tancred by Tancred


Tancred-300x300Tancred by Tancred

Record Label: Topshelf Records

Genre: Indie/Pop

Release Date: October 15, 2013

Songs: 11
good good

Jess Abbott is the lead singer of Now and Tancred is her solo project. Jess is from New England and has had this solo project in the works for quite a few years now. Tancred is her first album.

opinion

Growing up as a kid, I was influenced by singers like Fefe Dobson, Skye Sweetnam, and Demi Lovato. Their music, passion, and just attitudes were things that I wanted to gain once I became a teen. Now that I am one, listening to their songs remind me of all of the dreams my fickle heart had. Tancred also does this for me. Her songs remind me of just how much I wanted to be the troublemaker growing up and have that great group of ‘misfit’ friends. Of course I’ve grown up since then but listening to this reminds me of what every little kid wanted–to grow up.

The album starts off quite nicely and even though I adore her unique voice and her attitude I feel like it clashes with the tempo of the songs badly. What makes things worse is that most of the songs are really short so they don’t feel complete, instead they just feel as though Jess Abbott couldn’t come up with anything more and decided to leave it at that. In Hard to Leave, it drags on a bit with the drumming being repetitive and boring. Abbott could have added some solos to help it.

But, like I said before, I absolutely love her voice because it’s so unique and enchanting. The way she draws out her notes and adds in random high notes is great. There is also quite a heavy bass in just about the song, especially in The Ring and Allston that catches the listener’s attention. Twelve has an awesome beginning and build-up that is executed beautifully with the sudden stops and goes.

Overall, This self-titled album has brought back quite a few memories for me and because of that I really enjoy this album. I can’t wait to see what else she brings to this table and I recommend this to anyone who also grew up listening to artists like Fefe Dobson and Skye Sweetnam because man, the good old days seem to be long gone! My favourite songs on this album are: Allston, Creases, Twelve, and The Worst Kind.

3 Sexy Treble Clefs

3 Sexy Treble Clefs

Songs on the Album (Click on the title to listen to the song!)

1. The Ring-2:19

2. Allston-2:01

3. Creases-2:00

4. Radio-2:25

5. Twelve-2:49

6. In the Night-3:23

7. Indiana-2:37

8. Hard to Leave-3:34

9. Thicker Than Blood-1:54

10. When You’re Weak-3:09

11. The Worst Kind-2:40

One thought on “Album Review: Tancred by Tancred

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update#8 | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

