Book Review: Allegiant (Divergent#3) by Veronica Roth


17383918Allegiant (Divergent#3) by Veronica Roth

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Dystopian and Young Adult

Release Date: October 22, 2013

Pages: 526 (Hardcover)

good good

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

opinion

I’m smacking myself.

How is it possible that this series started off with a 4.5 rating to a 2.5 rating all the way to 1? How? Never have I read a series that I have quickly adored and then quickly despised as much as this one. All the reason for this has to be well, mostly the characters. In Allegiant, there are two MCs, Tris and Four.

Tris fucking Prior has to be one of the dumbest characters I have ever had the misfortune of reading about. The way treats people, especially the ones she loves is disgusting and at no point did I like her in this book.

Now, onto Four.
description

I used to love Four. He was always so strong and caring, doing what was necessary to get the mission done. In this one I hated him. Veronica Roth does a HORRID job of writing in his POV. Instead of loving him more, I felt myself hate it more and roll my eyes at him whenever I was reading something in his POV. All he does is complain. And whine. All day.

The better half of the book is focused on all of this genetic bullshit and faction crap but mostly the genetic stuff. At no point did I really understand or care about it, it just takes up a lot of space and time and was boring.

NOW THE ENDING.
description

description

Believe it or not, but I laughed. I laughed really, really, really hard. Not because this is the way I express my sadness but because I just couldn’t help it. It’s unnecessary and over the top. I expected more from Roth but I guess that I shouldn’t have.

1 Lonely Cloud

1 Lonely Cloud

For quotes from this book, click here.

One thought on “Book Review: Allegiant (Divergent#3) by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Rumble by Ellen Hopkins | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

