Book Review: No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale


18052934No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: January 7, 2014

Pages: 384 (Hardcover)

good good

Small towns are nothing if not friendly. Friendship, Wisconsin (population: 688) is no different. Around here, everyone wears a smile. And no one ever locks their doors. Until, that is, high school sweetheart Ruth Fried is found murdered. Strung up like a scarecrow in the middle of a cornfield.

Unfortunately, Friendship’s police are more adept at looking for lost pets than catching killers. So Ruth’s best friend, Kippy Bushman, armed with only her tenacious Midwestern spirit and Ruth’s secret diary (which Ruth’s mother had asked her to read in order to redact any, you know, sex parts), sets out to find the murderer. But in a quiet town like Friendship—where no one is a suspect—anyone could be the killer.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, HarperTeen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

My reaction to this book from beginning to end.

Was reading this book worth my time? Nope, not at all. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve read a stream of serious topic books lately that I had high hopes for this one but it fell so flat. Flat on its ass. I can’t count how many times I’ve fallen asleep while reading this.

The writing style feels too forced and awkward which made Kippy too awkward to even try to like. Readers are constantly told that she watches many TV shows and journalists yet she’ s constantly making childish mistakes while investigating crime scenes. I felt like the author was trying too hard to make the killer mysterious that she didn’t care that kippy is a horrible character who leaves her car in front of crime scenes, gloats about all the secrets she knows to suspects, and leaves evidence where people can just take it. I mean, come on! Did I mention that she treats her super nice dad like shit? Because she does every time she’s around him. In the story, there are a few eyebrow raising scenes because of the way they’re handed as jokes, whether it was Hale’s intention or not, it’s angering and disgusting the way abuse and mental illness es are treated in the book.

The cover is so creepy! I love it. That’s all I liked about this book.

No One Else Can Have You feels like a complete stupidly boring joke that’s more awkward satire than gritty and dark. I don’t recommend this to anyone unless you enjoy boring stories with a pretty predictable killer. Mystery novels should never be read one after another or else trends are easy to spot. I have learned my lesson.

1 Lonely Cloud

1 Lonely Cloud

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

