Book Review: Fake ID by Lamar Giles


12787708Fake ID by Lamar Giles

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: January 21, 2014

Pages: 320 (Hardcover)

good good

Nick Pearson is hiding in plain sight…

My name isn’t really Nick Pearson.

I shouldn’t tell you where I’m from or why my family moved to Stepton, Virginia.

I shouldn’t tell you who I really am, or my hair, eye, and skin color.

And I definitely shouldn’t tell you about my friend Eli Cruz and the major conspiracy he was about to uncover when he died—right after I moved to town. About how I had to choose between solving his murder with his hot sister, Reya, and “staying low-key” like the Program has taught me. About how moving to Stepon changed my life forever.

But I’m going to.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, HarperTeen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Fake ID kind of just swept me off of my feet and blew me away. I was expecting a darker story and for it to be a lot slower but I got something a bit different. Lamar Giles has written a story about family, romance, and above all, trust. Which has earned him a respected place among my favourite authors.

I had a hard time connecting with some characters since their  back stories and histories are told too late in the story for me to actually care about them. I wished that more of a reaction was shown when people found out about Nick and his family instead of what I got. Everyone seems too calm about it, even Reya who I was expecting to go bat shit crazy didn’t satisfy me.

Giles jumps right into the action and never stopped entertaining me. There’s a lot of it and a romance but I loved how it takes the backseat throughout the whole novel. A really big part of the story is the witness protection program that Nick’s family is in and I thought that it’s very well done. It’s woven into he story form the beginning to the end of it.

Overall, this is a great story that I really enjoyed. I loved how race doesn’t add in a lot of the typical stereotypes. I recommend Fake ID to everyone, especially people who like mystery stories with quite a bit of action in them.

4 Dreamy Clouds

4 Dreamy Clouds

One thought on “Book Review: Fake ID by Lamar Giles

Leave a Reply

