2013 End of Year Book Survey


This is my first year participating! I’m excited because this looks like a lot of fun. I’m going to try my best to keep it to only books released in 2013. But you might seen a few old ones! This survey is hosted by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner. Go check out her blog! It’s great!

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Contemporary YA – Winger by Andrew Smith

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic – Proxy (Proxy#1) by Alex London

Historical Fiction –crap, I don’t really read any of these. Hahha, SKIP!

Paranormal — Insomnia (The Night Walkers#1) by J. R. Johannson

Science Fiction — Sylo (Sylo#1) by D.J. MacHale

Fantasy — Through the Zombieglass by Gena Showalter

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

 Hands down Taken by Erin Bowman. I mean, have you SEEN that cover? And the summary…tsk tsk such a shame. 

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Alright, I have two.

My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling-I honestly thought I would hate this one. I’ve read my share of mythology books and I thought this one would be like the rest but then it swept me away! 

Being Henry David by Cal Armistead-I was expecting your typical amnesia story but then Hank stole my heart and threw away the key! Damn! One of my favourites for sure.

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Winger by Andrew Smith!!!! GO! Drop what you are doing and read this book! I have written my book reports for English and French on this book because it’s *tries not to cry* beautiful in every single way *one tear escapes* and I just love it so much *starts sobbing*.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Definitely The Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo. Damn, that series is amazing. The Darkling is just too sexy.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

ANDREW SMITH BECAUSE HE IS AN AMAZINGLY FUNNY MAN WHO IS AWESOME. Even though I’ve only read one book by him, he has yanked Ally Carter by her ponytail back from second favourite author. IF ANYONE HAS A COPY OF GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE THAT THEY DON’T WANT ANYMORE PLEASE…I BEG YOU….

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I completely blame my grade seven teach for this, but I hate Sci-fi. I can’t bring myself to give anything in that genre more than 3.5 Stars but  Sylo (Sylo#1) by D.J. MacHale is one that I really enjoyed.

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

I have a few for this one. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West,  Arclight by Joslin McQuein oh! and (Yeah, yeah I’m cheating but I can’t help it!) Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff!

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Winger by Andrew Smith! I’ve already mentioned this book three times! It’s so good. I have the ebook as well as the physical copy. Hopefully I can get it signed.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

I can’t make up my mind so I’m not even going to bother to try.

15752340110443671344530612578294

11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

I have a bunch. Deal with it!

Hank from Being Henry David, Ryan Dean West from Winger, The Darkling from Siege and Storm, Kaidan from Sweet Peril, Rue from Arlight, and Caymen from the Distance Between Us.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Oh god. The Archived by far. That writing is like smoother than butter.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

Can you guess what book? That’s right.

11861815

This story hit my core. It had everything. Everything and more that I looked for in a favourite book. It made me cry, it made me laugh, it made me happy and sad and angry. But most of all, it made me care. Winger has made me care so much that upon finishing the novel at like three am crying my eyes out I had to call my sister and make sure she was okay. The events that happen in this novel should NEVER happen to anyone no matter their sexual orientation. And I cry everytime I think about this book *sobs*.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

Haha um is this even a question for me this year? The first Harry Potter book. Did you see my #HPvirgin tweets? Please cheer for me on this one that I’ve FINALLY read this!  (This also true for me so I’m not going to change my answer!)

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013? 

There are just so many. I’ll have to quote a few!

1. There are so many way to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.

But sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.

That is the sort of bravery I must have now.-Four from Allegiant

2. “I was hoping that I’m wrong, that life gets better for some people when they get older, and even the most miserable people–such as you and me–might be able to enjoy at least some aspect of adulthood. Like those ads where gay guys talk about being picked on in high school but then they grew up and discovered that adult life is like heaven. They say it gets better. I want to believe that happiness might at least be possible later on in life for people prone to sadness.”-Leonard Peacock from Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

3. “I feel like I’m broken–like I don’t fit together anymore. Like there’s no more room for me in the world or something. Like I’ve overstayed my welcome here on Earth, and everyone’s trying to give me hints about that constantly. Like I should just check out. […] I think that’s why my mom left for New York and why no one wants to talk to me ever. I’m so fucking worthless.”-Leonard Peacock from Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

4. Cole chuckled, saying, “Fear of spiders is arachnophobia, and fear of tight spaces is claustrophobia, but fear of Ali Bell is just called logic.”-Cole from Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles#2) by Gena Showalter

5. If you’re super tall, don’t be a dick and stand in front of a short person.-Kat from Fire With Fire (Burn For Burn#2) by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian (You don’t understand how many times this has happened to me.)

6. “I have loved you all my life, Mal,” I whispered through my tears. “There is no end to our story.”-Alina from Siege and storm (The Grisha#2) by Leigh Bardugo

7. Because isn’t the whole point of loving someone–being in love with someone–that you understand her as well as you understand yourself? Isn’t loving someone almost like becoming that person, and them becoming you? I mean, isn’t that the point, at least in a way?-Sam from September Girls

8. “You’re late.” Kat said as soon as Hale put the phone to his ear. She wasn’t the kind of girl to wait for hello.

“What can I say? Macey McHenry has been throwing herself at me…”

“See, that’s the kind of thing that would make me jealous if she weren’t way out of your league.”

“You know, if I had feelings, that might have hurt them.”

And now, quotes from Winger by Andrew Smith.

1. “You know, nothing ever goes back exactly the way it was. Things just expand and contract. Like the universe, like breathing. But you’ll never fill your lungs up with the same air twice. Sometimes, it would be cool if you could pause and rewind and do over. But I think anyone would get tired of that after one or two times.”-Joey

2. You can’t see around corners, so you just have to deal with it and try to stay afloat.

And things get tough.

And you’re supposed to grow up.

And it’s all a bunch of bullshit.

Sorry.

3. I found out something about words. There are plenty of words I can put on paper, words I can see with my eyes and scribble with my hand, that I never had the guts to say with my mouth. Sometimes, I used to think I was brave; but I don’t believe that anymore.

And then it’s always that one word that makes you so different and puts you outside the overlap of everyone else; and that word is so fucking big and loud, it’s the only thing anyone ever hears when your name is spoken.

And whenever that happens to us,  all the other words that make us the same disappear in its shadow.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

 How I did this: Went to my read books on Goodreads and sorted by page number and just looked for what I knew I read this yeaer that was the shortest and longest.

Shortest– A Trick of the Light by Lois Metzger. This one could have been really good if only it were longer.  (189 pages)
Longest — Fire with Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian (528 pages)

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

The Bone Season had a super steamy part near the end! LOVED IT! Also Everything in Sweet Peril because that shit is supa steamayyyyy.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Romance – Mal and Alina in Siege and Storm and Kat and Hale from Perfect Scoundrels! I just have a thing for sneaky guys!

Friendship – I really liked Moe and Annie’s relationship from The Vow because it’s so serious and strong even though I didn’t really like the book.  Or even between Cammie, Bex, Liz, and Macey from United We Spy. Those girls are my homies.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Hhmmm I would have to say Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles#2) by Gena Showalter.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

 The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

No surprise here — contemporary YA!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Rue from Arclight! Wes from The Archived! and Adam from Six Months Later!

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

I’ll stick to something new that actually took my breath away. Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

Harry Potter — I love how I was so transported into Harry’s new life along with him.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

My Date From Hell! Sophie is so funny! I could never get bored with her!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Winger by Andrew Smith-You know why.

Being Henry David by Cal Armistead-because I could really connect with the characters.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

I really think people should give September Girls by Bennett Madison a chance. It’s actually not that shitty.

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013? 

STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND GO CHECK THESE AMAZING PEOPLE OUT! THEY ARE CONSTANTLY MAKING ME LAUGH WITH THEIR REVIEWS! Litchick over at Litchick’s Hit List, Khank over at Bookistry, and Braiden over at Book Probes. GO! gO RIGHT NOW!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013? 

Oh man. A lot of them would have been for my favorite books and all those are linked to my reviews above!But I’d have to go with Taken just because I enjoyed ranting.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I actually haven’t had many! SO I’m skipping this one. Hopefully I have some next year!

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

Every Discussion ever written on The Quiet Voice. I love Thomas’s writing style and his discussion topics are ones I usually don’t think twice about until he asks them. I love reading his blog but recently, I liked his post about Kindness and if it’s real or not.

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

In March My best friends and I went to a signing for Marissa Meyer! Weird, I know since I haven’t read her books but I bought both book the month they came out. I plan on reading them in 2014.

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

It would have to be making more friends! I feel a lot more confident about myself in the Blogger World now because of them.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Well my book review for The Dead and Buried! Although I’m not sure why!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Hmm any reviews really? They take the longest to write and it seems like blogosphere wide the loving for them is going down. I have no doubt that people read them but sometimes when they aren’t getting as much comment love it’s easy to think they aren’t being read. BUT WINGER BY ANDREW SMITH!!!!!!!!!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

 HHmmmm That I have found a lot of Bookworm friends! All French class we just talk about books. That’s legit it.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I FINISHED THE DEBUT AUTHOR CHALLENGE! I read over 20 (I think?) books for it! I’m so happy! Didn’t finish my other goals though….

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?  

Cinder! Or maybe Daughter of Smoke and Bone! Gosh I just have these great series on my bookshelves and I never get around to reading them…but I will! Starting January!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

Damnit! There are far too many! But I would have to say Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. I haven’t read it yet but I always get tears in my eyes when I think about it. Maybe it’s because I also think about Andrew Smith and how awesome he is and how amazing Winger is which always makes me cry or because I really really REALLY need to get my hands on a copy of this novel. Like now.

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

WELLLLLL It was Cruel Beauty but I have already finished that! And it was great! Next up, I think Faking Normal!

 4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

Oh man! Sweet Reckoning and Ruin and Rising!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

I really hope that I’m more organized and relaxed. I want my blog to be more than just books and albums. I want to make it more personal in 2014!

7 thoughts on “2013 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Aw thank you so much for the shout out! I love how we appreciate each others’ views despite disagreeing about certain things (I wasn’t the hugest fan of Winger, ha ha). However, I do want to read Smith’s book Stick, because it looks fabulous and I wish to give him another shot.

    Here’s to another year full of fantastic books – contemporary YA and otherwise – and more blogging!

    • No problem, but seriously…Keep writing about topics that I never give second thoughts about. They are AWESOME. Also, I’m plan on reading all of his books next year so I’ll tell you whether that ones good or not. I’m hoping 2014 is a lot more fun as well!

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Haha I don’t really read historical fiction either (maybe that’s why I didn’t like Clockwork Angel..). I seriously need to read Winger. I’ve heard so many good things about that book especially from Raeleen (booktuber) at padfootandprongs07. Let the Sky Fall has a beautiful cover, but I’ve heard that there’s insta-love…so I didn’t read it. Glad you read Harry Potter, I still need to read them lol. But, I finally read Catching Fire and Vampire Academy this year (I know, I know, I’m late). Anyways, hope you have an awesome New Year’s!

    • Oh, Let The Sky Fall is pretty bad, I hated the whole romance but I have an arc of the sequel so I’m hoping that I start liking this series more. Don’t worry! I just read VA (the first one) this year too! We should do a book club or something for the rest of the series!

      Thanks for commenting! I hope yours id great too. AND READ WINGER!!!!!!!!

      • Yikes, okay def. not going to read LTSF. Man, I hate it when it has a gorgeous cover, but the story is a fail. YAY, we def. should or we can buddy read on the rest of the books! I still haven’t read Frostbite or any of the next books. And yes, Winger will definitely on top of my tbr pile for 2014!

      • I hate that too! Have you seen the cover for Taken? SO DAMN PRETTY. But it’s a horrid book. Same with a few books that come out next year like No One Else Can Have You.

        Def. Buddy Read for this series!

Leave a Reply

