Favourite Book Quotes of the Week#48


favourite

A list of my favourite quotes from books I’ve read in the past week. Leave a comment/link telling me what your favourite quotes are! I’ll be sure to check your post out too!

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

15839984Favourite quotes:

1. Don’t look at the shadows too long, or a demon might look back.

2. If you desired someone, if he comforted you, if you thought he might leech the poison out of your hear, was that love? Or only desperation?

Avalon (Avalon#1) by Mindee Arnett

17149396Favourite quote: Was the promise of freedom just something the desperate and oppressed clung to because they didn’t have anything else? Had it always been just a dream, a fantasy built up in the mind of  a boy forced to grow up too soon?

Fake ID by Lamar Giles

12787708Favourite quote: You don’t have to know someone your whole life to know them. Not really. Lonely is the same everywhere.

No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale

18052934Favourite quote: When you’re little, you think nothing bad can happen to you because if you fall out of that tree, a fireman will catch you, or a doctor will fix it–and if someone brings a gun to school, maybe it’s okay to engage in dangerous heroics because an ambulance will get there soon enough. Now here I am with a sheriff whose first thought after a murder is maybe I can pin in on that guy I don’t like. 

Uninvited (Uninvited#1) by Sophie Jordan

13645645Favourite quote:  Some wounds are deeper than death. If nothing else, I’ve learned that.

The Lure by Lynne Ewing

18052928Favourite quotes:

1. “Four can keep a secret if three are dead.”

2. Sometimes the right choice caused suffering for the people we loved. And that was never a good reason to back down from doing what was morally right.

3. “I think I’ve been looking at my life from the wrong way,” I said. “What if, when fate gives you something bad, it’s not to defeat you, it’s so you’ll see the problem and do something about it.”

13 thoughts on “Favourite Book Quotes of the Week#48

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Avalon (Avalon#1) by Mindee Arnett | A Lot Like Dreaming

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge | A Lot Like Dreaming

  3. Pingback: Book Review: No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale | A Lot Like Dreaming

  4. Ugh, I have so many favorite quotes from Cruel Beauty. The entire thing is just a gorgeously written book with ALL THE QUOTES. Loved the two you chose. And how is The Lure? I’ve been eyeing that one, but am not sure about it.

    • I know! I was so into the novel that I completely forgot to look for quotes. Oh, save yourself from the ratchetness that is The Lure. It’s really unrealistic and boring. My review for it will be up tomorrow.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. Pingback: Book Review: The Lure by Lynne Ewing | A Lot Like Dreaming

  6. Pingback: Book Review: Uninvited (Uninvited#1) by Sophie Jordan | A Lot Like Dreaming

Leave a Reply

