Book Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor


maybe one dayMaybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: February 18, 2014

Pages: 400 (Hardcover)

good good

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, HarperTeen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

description

This book is…odd and I feel weird reviewing it. I feel like Karma is going to bite me in the ass if I give this novel anything less than a stellar review. But I can’t because I found this novel to be far less than that. It left me feeling bored and apathetic and just all around annoyed. I only found one part containing any redeeming qualities but it’s over too soon and everything from there just turned back to mush. Maybe I’m just sick of books surrounding cancer. Or maybe I have such high expectations for these stories that when they don’t meet them, I get left disappointed. Either way, I didn’t enjoy this one, it’s mediocre through and through.

Maybe One Day starts off with a lot of info-dumping which was strike one for me. I cannot stand it when authors shove a bunch of information in the first few chapters and then expect readers to remember it when it actually comes into play. I read about four books at a time. Hell no do I have time to remember that shit. I also found the writing to be a bit stiff and awkward exactly like how I felt towards the romance. It’s all contrived and rushed and just thrown together because this is a YA novel and romance is needed no matter what. On top of all that, the characters are choppy and annoying. Zoe is so very self-centred and mean, she does nothing but think about herself and how Olivia dying will affect her life and her plans. I couldn’t stand her and her pettiness. Your best friend is dying, console her and her family along with yourself.

What I did enjoy about this novel is Zoe’s humour towards most things. This is probably the only reason that I kept reading, because it made most things bearable. The memorial service is the most well done part of the story. It’s described lovely and very realistic, I felt as if I was right there beside Zoe and her family. I was actually close to shedding a tear at this part.

Melissa Kantor does have some talent but I still find it hard to believe in the realism of her books. I always found them a little too far-fetched and contrived for my liking. However I do recommend this to anyone who enjoys stories surrounding cancer and will never get bored with them. Maybe One Day has at least one sad part that’ll for sure make readers cry or at least want to.

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

