Book Review: The Queen’s Choice by Cayla Kluver


18168636The Queen’s Choice by Cayla Kluver

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: January 28, 2014

Pages: 512 (Hardcover)

good good

Magic was seeping out of me, black and agonizing. I could see it drifting away. The magic that would let me pass the Road to reach home again.

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equalled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen’s mantle herself.

Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home. But her journey is doomed to be more harrowing than she ever could have imagined.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Harlequin Teen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

That first chapter had me at the edge of my seat. I was ready for some action-packed, romance filled, excitement. Instead, what I got is a lot of travelling…and boredom..with only a few dashes of excitement. However, the ending ends with a bang, just like how the beginning of the story starts. Fingers crossed that the second book is better and more exciting.

What I didn’t like about The Queen’s Choice is the middle of it. With all the travelling and adventure going on, I wasn’t expecting myself to doze off a few times yet I did. A lot. There’s just too much of it, too much travelling and searching and whatnot. I found it boring after a while and I barely cared once they found Zabriel. It didn’t help that the writing is extremely stiff and awkward at times.

The Queen’s Choice has such a beautifully creepy beginning. It’s captivating and awesome. I also loved the world building and how the faery world is described, it’s mythical and enchanting and will definitely reel readers in. As far as main characters go, Anya is amazing. She’s quite flawed and she doesn’t give up despite the fact that she can never go home ever again. She’s so strong and badass that I got excited whenever she’s forced to fight. The beginning and the ending are both so creepy and exciting. I seriously cannot wait for the next book.

Although it does get extremely boring in the middle this is still a fun story and I really loved the beginning. It’s an interesting take of the faery world and I can’t wait to go back to it. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy novels, mythical creatures, and don’t mind a lot of travelling.

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

Leave a Reply

