Book Review: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements#1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


17455585White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements#1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: February 25, 2014

Pages: 400 (Paperback)

good good

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Harlequin Teen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

I know that I can be mean in my reviews. I tend to get angry, especially with characters and settings and believe me, sometimes I actually do feel a bit bad about it. There’s so much hype revolving a story that so may bloggers have already read and loved that I start to fall in love with the idea that I’ll fall in love with it also.

White Hot Kiss is the first book I’ve read by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Maybe it was the hype, my fellow bookworm consistently telling me that all her (or most) books are golden and that I would for sure love her too. And I was starting to like her too, I really was but starting the boos and the more I read the more I realized something–Layla’s doesn’t get any better. All she does throughout the story is whine and complain about Zayne and how he’s getting on with his life. I had a hard time giving a damn about her misfortunes and disliked her even more for her petty attempts to get away from Roth upon first meeting him. Honey, you better be using those skills Zayne taught you on a demon no matter how hot he is.

Despite the forced humour, the writing isn’t that bad. It’s light, and really smooth and made the characters  a little more bearable. There’s a lot of action that unfortunately doesn’t start until about halfway through the book however it’s enticing and I was flipping through the pages to know what was going to happen next. Roth and Zayne aren’t horrible characters, they were pretty fun to read about and I didn’t find myself rolling my eyes too much whenever they do something. Also, that ending! It’s intense and I wasn’t really expecting it, I was told that Armentrout knows how to end a book but I wasn’t expecting that.

Jennifer L. Armentrout is a very hyped-up author which she should be. I could see why so many people love her stories, they’re enchanting and light. And even though I didn’t like it as much as I was expecting it, I think that a lot of people will, especially those who have read and loved her other series. I’m just hoping that once I start reading her other series that I’ll get used to her style and like it more and that Stone Cold Touch resides a lot better with me.

3 Clouds

3 Clouds

2 thoughts on “Book Review: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements#1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

