Book Review: Let the Storm Break (Let the Sky Fall#2) by Shannon Messenger


18051183

Let the Storm Break (Let the Sky Fall#2) by Shannon Messenger

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: March 4, 2014

Pages: 400 (Hardcover)

good good

Vane Weston is haunted. By the searing pull of his bond to Audra. By the lies he’s told to cover for her disappearance. By the treacherous winds that slip into his mind, trying to trap him in his worst nightmares. And as his enemies grow stronger, Vane doesn’t know how much longer he can last on his own.

But Audra’s still running. From her past. From the Gales. Even from Vane, who she doesn’t believe she deserves. And the farther she flees, the more danger she finds. She possesses the secret power her enemy craves, and protecting it might be more than she can handle—especially when she discovers Raiden’s newest weapon.

With the Gale Force weakened by recent attacks, and the power of four collapsing, Vane and Audra are forced to make a choice: keep trusting the failing winds, or turn to the people who’ve betrayed them before. But even if they survive the storms sent to destroy them, will they have anything left to hold on to?

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Simon Pulse for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Shannon Messenger chooses the prettiest titles and has some amazing covers that go well with her Let the Sky Fall series. And as a reviewer, I try my best (and mostly fail) to never judge a book by its cover and with Let the Storm Break I completely disregarded just how lovey dovey the cover is and hoped for a shit ton of action and great main characters unlike what happened in the first book. Did I get the kick-ass main characters I was hoping for?

When a book is four hundred pages, I expect a lot to happen. I expect a shit ton of action and character development and some romance. Let the Storm Break could have been cut down at least by a quarter because most of the book is just romance and nothing more. I was expecting a lot more character development and a LOT less Romance. Everything just focuses on the relationship between Audra and Vane and how much they love each other and need each other. I’ve never read such a love-sick guy in my life. Honestly, Vane, grow a pair before I slap you. His humour is also very contrived, I had a hard time believing a word that he said with his crappy sarcasm. Everything is still predictable, I knew what would happen in the end after only reading about a quarter of the novel which is sad because I was hoping that Messenger would still have a few tricks up her sleeve.

This series has very short chapters as well as smooth writing that helps makes the characters more bearable to read about. I enjoyed reading about the new characters that Messenger brings into Let the Storm Break especially Gus, who’s good-natured humour. There isn’t very much information on the different winds except for what we were told in the first book but I stilled loved this aspect of it. The Westerly language is amazing, their hope and faith and just heritage is so lovely and I felt whenever a westerly wind helps out Vane or Audra, that I was really excited.

Overall, Let the Storm Break is a disappointment. Rarely does a second novel beat out the first one for me, but I had really low expectations for this one. Honestly, all I wanted was less romance not more of it. However if you’re a fan of the romance taking over the plot then you will really like this novel. The idea of it is so captivating with the winds and how they’re all different yet so connected is the only reason why I’ll read the next book. Honestly.

2 Clouds

2 Clouds

 

For quotes from this book, click here.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Let the Storm Break (Let the Sky Fall#2) by Shannon Messenger

  1. I’m so glad I didn’t requested this book because I was planning on reading the first and second together. After reading your review (and some other similar ones) I’m 100% sure I wouldn’t like this book. I love romantic reads but currently I don’t want to read anything romance related. I’m just too fed up with it. Anyways, sorry this didn’t work for you. Hope your next read is much better. Thanks for the review 🙂

  2. Haha well I just all books by their cover >.< But really it can totally change my expectations of a book or the vibe I will go in with. Anyways, this does sound like a downer. And 400 pages with nothing much more than romance sounds a bit much to me. hopefully your next read will be better! ❤

Leave a Reply

