Book Review: Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski


17560541

Don’t Even Think About It by  Sarah Mlynowski 

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: March 11, 2014

Pages: 336 (Hardcover)

good good

We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends really think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming. Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same.
So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Delacorte Press for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Can you imagine ever reading someone’s mind? I mean, there has to be at least one person that you thought, “Man, if I could only know how they feel about…” that would just solve a few of your problems, right? Well, Don’t Even Think About It is like that. Sarah Mlynowski takes readers on a light-hearted ride into that What if world and shows us the good as well as the bad.

Unfortunately, this book is all it’s cracked up to be. Sure it’s entertaining and stuff (I’ll get into it later) but many of it is half-assed. The characters feel so flimsy and their relationships even more so contrived. I couldn’t bring myself to believe any of them, especially between Cooper and Mackenzie. They all felt like they’re in grade five rather grade ten by the way the talk about their crushes as well as the way they talk to each other. Another problem that I had with Don’t Even Think ABout It, was the ending and how unrealistic it is.

It’s still such a fun story though. I loved the writing style, the “we” tense is something new to me and I only read it briefly in Two Boys Kissing and I enjoyed it. It made me feel like one of them. The mind reading was the best part of the novel, people think all the time and I loved how Mlynowski showed this by adding random thoughts as well as serious one to the bunch. I read how certain thoughts relieved as well as crushed the characters and how this strange yet awesome ability changed their lives in more than just one way.

Mylnowski creates a hilarious world with realistic thoughts and albeit the characters are a bit one-dimensional, I enjoyed reading their powers and all the things they could do because of them. I recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a novel that doesn’t involve too much thinking. Because you may never know who’s listening.

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

  1. Huh the we tense intrigues me but also makes me wary. It sounds like it might be distracting. I do enjoy these kinds of light entertaining reads sometimes but I usually like it when the characters are more genuine so I’m not sure if I’d take to this one. Great review, Abbe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

