Book Review: Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy


18053148Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: March 18, 2014

Pages: 336 (Hardcover)

good good

What if you’d been living your life as if you were dying—only to find out that you had your whole future ahead of you?

When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, her prognosis is grim. To maximize the time she does have, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs—however she sees fit. She convinces her friend Harvey, whom she knows has always had feelings for her, to help her with a crazy bucket list that’s as much about revenge (humiliating her ex-boyfriend and getting back at her arch nemesis) as it is about hope (doing something unexpectedly kind for a stranger and reliving some childhood memories). But just when Alice’s scores are settled, she goes into remission.

Now Alice is forced to face the consequences of all that she’s said and done, as well as her true feelings for Harvey. But has she done irreparable damage to the people around her, and to the one person who matters most?

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Balzer + Bray for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

Honestly, I’m not sure about this one. It’s not bad but it’s certainty not good. The character got on my nerves but I felt bad for them at least once. I hated most things but liked a few. I felt very conflicted and it’s safe to say that Side Effects May Vary could have been well executed and a fun read. The idea of getting a second chance at life hasn’t been done before in YA novels or at least not done enough.

My biggest problem with Side Effects May Vary are the main characters and just….Annoying they both are. Alice is a bitch who treats the only person who loves her like crap. I understand that she’s scared and all but come on, at least be a woman about it and tell him that you’re scared. Harvey albeit sweeter than sweet is such a pushover. Love can make people do some really weird things yet Harvey allowed Alice to get away with everything. It was extremely annoying to read about and I could barely tolerate the romance of it all.

Have you ever wanted a second chance to fix all the shit that you messed up? I know I do and Alice actually gets the chance to. I loved reading Julie Murphy’s writing style, although at times I felt bored, for the most part it’s lovely and I didn’t mind it.

However, Julie Murphy has a few things to learn, especially about writing from a male’s perspective because many times, I didn’t believe that Harvey’s actually a guy. I don’t know if I would recommend this to anyone. On one hand, I loved the idea of this book. On the other, I hated the characters and the romance for how one-sided it is.

2 Clouds

2 Clouds

One thought on “Book Review: Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

Leave a Reply

