Book Review: Elusion by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam


12369550Elusion by  Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Dystopian and Young Adult

Release Date: March 18, 2014

Pages: 400 (Hardcover)

good good

Soon, Elusion® will change the world and life as we know it.

A new technology called Elusion is sweeping the country. An app, visor and wristband will virtually transport you to an exotic destination where adventure can be pursued without the complications—or consequences—of real life.

Regan is an Elusion insider. Or at least she used to be. Her father invented the program, and her best friend, Patrick, heir to the tech giant Orexis, is about to release it nationwide. But ever since her father’s unexpected death, Regan can’t bear to Escape, especially since waking up from the dream means crashing back to her grim reality.

Still, when there are rumors of trouble in Elusion—accusations that it’s addictive and dangerous— Regan is determined to defend it. But the critics of Elusion come from surprising sources, including Josh, the handsome skeptic with his own personal stakes. As Regan investigates the claims, she discovers a disturbing web of secrets. She will soon have to choose between love and loyalty…a decision that will affect the lives of millions.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Katherine Tegen Books for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

It boggles my mind just how stupid some people can be over someone they find extremely attractive. People are willing to give up precious secrets for the sake of being ‘cool’ with someone hot. They don’t care about the people they’ve grown up with nor do they care that this whole ‘relationship’ could be a fucking trap and you could get fucking killed for the sake of some fucking hot guy fucking looking at you for two fucking seconds like you’re his everything. Is the risk of death  worth it though?

Regan seems to fucking think so!

The characters are annoying, especially Regan who just met this super hot guy and trusts him with a secret that her dad told her not to tell anyone! This is a typical insta-love and this was the first strike for me.  Just because he tells her something, which could be a lie. Also, she second guesses her best friend because the bad boy tells her some questioning info about him. I’ll admit that Patrick does some sketchy stuff but this doesn’t mean she should outright distrust him without speaking to him about it. She tries to, pathetically near the end of the novel but at that point, I couldn’t care. When writing a dystopian novel, the world should be explained perfectly yet in Elusion the world is so half-assed. The adventurous destinations are flimsy at best and certainly didn’t draw me in.

Although I hated just about everything about this story, I did love staring at the cover! It’s absolutely beautiful and what initially  drew me in.

Elusion goes through what a lot of YA books are currently going through. It’s not sure if it wants to be romance since the romance takes over the plot more than once, it’s not sure if it wants to be a dystopian because of the cool gadgets and world. I wouldn’t recommend this one to anyone because of how horrible the characters are, the sloppily done world, and the predictable ending. After I finishing Elusion, I feel like I should just stop reading Dystopian novels all together.

1 Lonely Cloud

1 Lonely Cloud

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Elusion by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam

  1. I feel like YA is in a slump lately. Publishers are picking more of the same thing in regards to insipid characters. What I’ve been so frustrated with is over and over again love at first sight no build up and suddenly the dude is obsessed and when he says I love you it’s supposed to mean something when it’s been like a day! Makes me want to punch someone. I don’t understand these girls. I know they’re a reality but come on!!!!

  2. Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this one! I actually loved it.

    I didn’t think their relationship was insta love– but I can see where some would think so. Great review 🙂

  3. First of all, I LOOOOVVVE your rating! “1 lonely cloud”….so funny. 🙂 Anyway, this book sounds awful. I would probably hate it, haha. It’s on my TBR list now, so I’ll probably get to it eventually, but….yeah. The romance sounds really bad.
    Great review, though! I love the GIF!

Leave a Reply

