Book Review: The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle


18048731The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: March 18, 2014

Pages: 304 (Hardcover)

good good

Growing up in privileged, Manhattan social circles, Caggie’s life should be perfect, and it almost was until the day that her younger sister drowned when Caggie was supposed to be watching her. Stricken by grief, Caggie pulls away from her friends and family, only to have everyone misinterpret a crucial moment when she supposedly saves a fellow classmate from suicide. Now she’s famous for something she didn’t do and everyone lauds her as a hero. But inside she still blames herself for the death of her sister and continues to pull away from everything in her life, best friend and perfect boyfriend included. Then Caggie meets Astor, the new boy at school, about whom rumours are swirling and known facts are few. In Astor she finds someone who just might understand her pain, because he has an inner pain of his own. But the more Caggie pulls away from her former life to be with Astor, the more she realises that his pain might be darker, and deeper, than anything she’s ever felt. His pain might be enough to end his life…and Caggie’s as well.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, Simon Pulse for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

In all fairness I made it to roughly 40% before I started skimming and then at 70%  I went straight to the penultimate chapter.

I love books about teens with depression and who face suicide. I could never get bored with this trend, I really don’t think I could, yet so far this year, the ones with these topics are just bad. They’re unrealistic and boring. And I don’t mean boring as in their story is terrible or not exciting enough. I mean boring as in they’re just words. No emotion, no connection whatsoever between the protagonist and the love interest, no explanation, nothing. It’s just words being told like a fucking monologue and it’s horrendous.

Caggie’s story of struggle and forgiveness should be full of heartache and connection because everyone wishes they could go back in time to change something, whatever it may be. It shouldn’t be a fucking snoozfest where the love triangle is with a sweet guy who’s pretty one-sided and the other one  so forcefully funny and it’s disgusting and seems to have no fucking care in the world yet can tell she’s hoarding some dark secrets. What the fuck is this bullshit, Serle? I’m very fucking disappointed with this.

Luckily, the only thing I didn’t completely hate is the best friend, Claire. Solely because she’s punk and does whatever she wants to and doesn’t seem to care. But even this, to a point, got ridiculous, there is a flimsy relationship between her and Caggie.

The Edge of Falling should be a book that has its readers at the edge of their seats. Not trying their best to stay awake. If I wanted to read an essay on the life of a teenage girl I would ask my English teacher. I wanted a novel that I could connect with and what I got was nothing close to it. I am beyond disappointed and I don’t recommend this to anyone.  Save yourself the trouble and frustration and stay far away from this one.

1 Lonely Cloud

1 Lonely Cloud

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle

Leave a Reply

