Song of the Week#39-Born to Love You by Skylight (The Bonus Interview Edition)


song of the week

This is a weekly meme that’s for the most part, the same as Song Of The Day except each week there will be a different ‘edition’ and it’s going to be updated once a week. This week’s edition is: The bonus interview! Interviews are not my strong point, they make me nervous and I always try to come up with fun questions but never do. However, with Skylight and more importantly, their publicist, Genevieve for being so kind about it! I had fun reading their answers and listening to Made for More and album you should all go check out!

wpid-Skylight-Cover.jpg

Skylight’s roots can be traced back to 2009 when three like-minded musos – Greg Jorden (vocals and guitar), Peter Klein (bass) and Bradley Cumming (drums) and later Wesley Ayliffe (guitar and back-up vocals) – joined forces after performing at a music event. The trio soon began writing music together, the chemistry instantaneous, and their individual visions started to take form.

Skylight are such a great band and I love their music, truly. It’s so soothing and warm and I can’t get enough! Born to Love You might be your favourite song come this summer. It’s so light and sweet and just screams not only summer but happiness which I think, is what everyone is going to need this summer.

My favourite part of the song is:

My heart has seen where I am free

Where you are walking next to me

Lungs filled with life feeling like new Yeah, I was born to love you

The sun is breaking through

Breaking through this storm

Yeah, I feel better now

Skies are turning blue

I’m coming home to you

Yeah, I feel better now

To listen to Born to Love You click here.

Lyrics are here.

 

Now, it’s time for the Q and A that I did with the band! They are so nice and some of their answers are quite funny like Greg losing his capo before a gig. Hopefully you all like their answers as well!

1. What’s the story behind your band’s name?

Greg: We wanted a name that captured what we want to do with our music… let some light in.

Brad: We believe there is a message of hope that we need to get out. A Skylight lets light in where it is dark, I guess we are trying to do the same.

2. I know a lot of musicians have tattoos dedicated to albums and songs, ect. I was wondering if any of you have tattoos dedicated to something music related. If so what do they say?

Greg: I don’t have one, but if I did I’d love ‘free’ tattooed on my arm. That’s how I feel when I play music.

Wesley:  No tattoos… I can never make up my mind what I want! When I do, it’ll definitely be music related.

Brad: I have a pair of drum sticks on my right shoulder. No words but I would like to add to it sometime.

3. Funniest moment of musical career?

Greg: Losing my capo before a song that needed it and asking the rest of the band to look for it in front of a high school audience

Wesley:  Hitting myself in the face with my guitar while trying to do a guitar sling (flipping it right around my neck). It wasn’t very funny at the time, and I looked like a complete idiot! I’ve definitely matured, along with my taste in music! 

Peter: Definitely Greg losing his capo on stage and asking us to look for it. 

Brad: Funniest or awkward? We had a Capo go missing on stage during a Highschool gig, I don’t think Greg will ever live this one down. It was on His music stand behind some music notes…

4. Best moment of musical career?

Greg: The best moments in my musical career are the ones that not many get to see – the jokes, the prayers, hanging out, jamming, and just doing life together with the band… that’s the best part about being in Skylight.

Wesley:  We’re all very close friends in the band – for me there is nothing better than getting to play music with three of my best friends; even if it’s just a rehearsal. That’s what making music is about. 

Peter: Playing at Joburg day back in 2010.

Brad: I’m tempted to say it was when we played at Joburg Day in front of 18000 people but the truth is when we’ve played a gig for 15 people it’s been as much fun. It comes down to being able to play music with amazing friends.

5. Since I’m a high school student, I was just wondering what type of high schooler you guys were like? (Eg. The jock, the writer, the nerd, the roamer, ect.)

Greg: The guy who didn’t fit in.

Wesley:  I was the coolest kid in school! (I was also homeschooled).

Peter: The NERD…still am!

Brad: The guy who got along with everyone.

Leave a Reply

