Book Review: 17 First Kisses by Rachel Allen


1859977017 First Kisses by Rachel Allen

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: June 17, 2014

Pages: 352 (Hardcover)

good good
No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment.

Until Claire meets Luke.

But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible.

With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, HarperTeen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinionGoing into this novel, I was under the impression that all this book cares about is romance and boys and stuff. I mean, we are told about her first kisses after every chapter and everyone seems to be tripping over this guy, Luke. Anyway, I didn’t hate this book. However the characters are pretty flimsy and I found myself rolling my eyes whenever the girls get into fights but I didn’t dislike it as much as I thought I would have.

I hated how shallow and boy crazy the main character is. I wanted Claire to realize how little boys mean compared to your best friend. I also had a hard time believing Claire’s family life. It’s not realistic the pain and suffering that her family goes through and quite frankly, there’s really no point for it to be in the book. The romance between Claire and Luke is pathetic at best and I felt apathetic towards all. Furthermore, I wanted more from Luke! He’s the centre of the whole book with his intense blue eyes *rolls eyes* and killer smile. He felt forced and undeveloped to me. I would have liked it more if Luke opened up more about his family life and how it affected him instead of  being a  boring love interest.

Without thinking too hard about this one, this is a light novel. The message by the end of the book is all right and I did enjoy the relationship between Claire and Megan at the end of the book. The way that they realized what’s truly important to them.  The writing is so smooth! I think that if it weren’t for the writing, I would have had a harder time getting through this one. Moreover, the flashbacks, about Claire’s first kisses is well done and well explained. I could relate to some of them and feel her embarrassment. They’re cute and fun.

17 First Kisses is a really cute novel. I didn’t have a problem getting through it and it has a few fun spots. The relationships and problems are contrived and a bit annoying but the writing is cute and it helped to pass the time. I recommend this one to anyone looking for something light and don’t mind the crappy relationships and the annoying romance.

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

2.5 Mess Up Clouds

Leave a Reply

