Book Review: The Nightmare Dilemma (The Arkwell Academy#2) by Mindee Arnett


17910091The Nightmare Dilemma (The Arkwell Academy#2) by Mindee Arnett

Publisher: Tor Teen

Genre: Fantasy and Young Adult

Release Date: March 4, 2014

Pages: 384 (Hardcover)

good good

Dusty Everhart might be able to predict the future through the dreams of her crush, Eli Booker, but that doesn’t make her life even remotely easy. When one of her mermaid friends is viciously assaulted and left for dead, and the school’s jokester, Lance Rathbone, is accused of the crime, Dusty’s as shocked as everybody else. Lance needs Dusty to prove his innocence by finding the real attacker, but that’s easier asked than done. Eli’s dreams are no help, more nightmares than prophecies.

To make matters worse, Dusty’s ex-boyfriend has just been acquitted of conspiracy and is now back at school, reminding Dusty of why she fell for him in the first place. The Magi Senate needs Dusty to get close to him, to discover his real motives. But this order infuriates Eli, who has started his own campaign for Dusty’s heart.

As Dusty takes on both cases, she begins to suspect they’re connected to something bigger. And there’s something very wrong with Eli’s dreams, signs that point to a darker plot than they could have ever imagined.

First of all, I would like to thank the Publisher, Tor Teen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinionWow is the first word that comes to mind when I think about this book. But it’s not the kind of wow that’s like, wow. This book knows how to pack a huge punch. It’s also not that wow that’s like, wow. This book is pretty great. It’s more like:

From boredom. It seems to be an ongoing thing with this series. I liked The Nightmare Affair enough to warrant it three stars but I can’t give this one anything higher than a two because I was so bored out of my mind that I had to stop reading it for two months. Partially because I had exams and family issues but two months is a very long time. There’s just so much wrong with it that I could hardly care.

The story starts off pretty slow and ends pretty tiredly. The reason for this that there’s so much time spent planning and talking and Dusty pretty much going, “who should I like now? Paul? Or Eli? Who? OOOhhhhh! Aaaaaahhhhh!” Adding onto that, the romance is very dulling. Nothing happens with it yet, for some reason, it plays a big part by never-dying down. It’s unnecessary and stupid. Both guys suck. The characters are still not as well-developed as they should be and many events that take place feel far too coincidental and contrived for me to actually believe them every time.

Surprisingly, I did find that I liked a few things like the writing. For the most part, it’s smooth and I hadn’t actually realized the book was going in close to no direction until the middle. Also, at the end, the very (or second) last plot twist, I was not expecting and I liked that Arnett kept me guessing even if it wasn’t for the whole novel.

The Nightmare Dilemma really let me down. I was expecting more since the first book was so entertaining but I didn’t get what I wanted. I only recommend this book to people who have already read the first book and can swallow down the second to hopefully reach better things. However, I do recommend this series to anyone looking for a fun fantasy that’s pretty funny and entertaining (the first book).

2 Boring Clouds

2 Boring Clouds

Leave a Reply

