Book Review: Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick


20306810Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary and Young Adult

Release Date: September 9, 2014

Pages: 224 (Hardcover)

good good

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

First of all, I would like to thank the publisher, HarperTeen for giving me an ARC of this book to review. Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! All right, now for my review.

opinion

I will always love short books because they can be read in an a short matter of time, like this, Kiss of  Broken Glass which only took my an hour to read. Unfortunately, I’ve learned that just because a book is short, doesn’t mean it’s any good.

The big problem, I believe is the way mental illness is shown in the book. I understand that not everyone is perfect and some people do think that cutting is ‘the coolest thing ever’ but I wanted the main character to actually change and learn her lesson instead of being a dumbass which she is from beginning to end. On top of this, the writing is stiff and I didn’t give two shits about any of the characters because of their one-sidedness.

The only upside is that I like that the book is in verse.

Kiss of Broken Glass is a really short book with boring characters, a typical atmosphere, and stiff writing. Since there’s not much time to add depth to the story, everything I read just felt like one huge info-dump. I don’t recommend unless you are in desperate need for something short.

1.5 Odd Clouds

1.5 Odd Clouds

Leave a Reply

