Song of the Week (Revamped) #15-Heart it Races by Dr. Dog


song of the week revamped

Song of the Week is a weekly meme of some of my current favourite songs or songs that I can’t get out of my head. Leave your favourite songs and I’ll be sure to check them out.

heart-it-races-ep

Dr. Dog is an American rock band from West Grove, Pennsylvania, United States. Its lineup consists of Toby Leaman, Scott McMicken, Frank McElroy, Zach Miller, and Eric Slick.

I won’t lie. The first I heard Heart it Races, I thought it was just  a boring old song. And in a sense, it really is. Sure, you put it on and it’s sweet, it’s light, whatever. But then it creeps up on you (it really does) during the weirdest times. For me, it’s whenever I’m washing dishes or like, I don’t know, making a sandwich. And it just stays there, being chill. Like a stoner who just wants to repeat the same thing over and over again until everyone else is saying it as well. boom da da da da da da boom dat dat dat da da

Favourite part:

And we’re slow to acknowledge the knots in our laces
Heart it races

And we go back to where we moved out to the places
Heart it races

I sold it to a man and threw him out that window
He went boom da da da da da da boom dat dat dat da da
Made his wife a widow

Listen to the song here.

Lyrics are here.

Leave a Reply

